Cookbooks: February 2017

blog-cookbooks-update

Hello my fellow bookworms and foodies, the recent weather here in the UK has been cold and miserable. This sort of weather calls for some hearty, comforting recipes so I tried these:

Leek & Potato Soup
Save with Jamie – Bonus Recipes – Page 263

A simple and easy to make recipe that serves two, although I doubled up on all the ingredients to make sure I would have extra portions to freeze. I served it as suggested with toast and a poached egg on top, which made for a filling and warming week day meal.

**


Rich Beef and Ale Casserole
Hairy Dieters 1 – Stews – Page 106

Using lean meat and only one tbsp. oil, Dave and Si have created this healthier version of a classic stew. Not having a large enough pot made this a little fiddly for me to make, however it was well worth it because it was delicious. Serve alone or with leeky mash, yum!

***


Turkey Chilli
Hairy Dieters 3 – Family Favourites – Page 48

I love these guys’ regular chilli recipe and I now regularly make it, so I decided to try this turkey version with chipotle paste in for a change. It was simple to make and it made for a delicious change.

***

Over the month, I have also re-made The Hairy Biker’s scrumptious Chilli Con Carne, Red Lentil and Bacon Soup and Very Easy Thai Chicken and Coconut Curry .


Then in contrast to those big hearty dishes, I had a go at making my own hummus:

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus
Hairy Dieters 1 – Lunchboxes & Snacks – Page 197

I love hummus but bought pots can be really high in fat and salt, so I was thrilled when I spotted this recipe. There is a few steps to making this: preparing the peppers, onion, chilli and spices, however then it is whizzed altogether with the chickpeas in a food processor. Serve with vegetable sticks or, as I like, on top of a rice cake…or two.

**


Again, I am really pleased with all the recipes I have tried over the last month. I also have new-to-me cookbooks: Jamie’s 30-minute Meals By Jamie Oliver and Plant Based Cookbook by Trish Sebben-Krupka still to read.

Do you fancy any of these recipes?

What cookbooks are you reading? Have you tried any new recipes?

2 thoughts on “Cookbooks: February 2017

Leave a Reply

