Goodbye February, Hello March 2016

month-feb-2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? Is it just me or did February just fly by?! To be fair though I have had a busy month, although I did still make time for home cooking and watching adaptations, including a trip to the theatre. As well as reading:

Fiction: 4          Non-Fiction: 2

At the beginning of the month, I read internationally bestseller The Shack by William Paul Young for my church’s February book club meeting. Not a great book but it is a gripping mystery with some beautiful reflections. Interestingly, apart from the vicar, the rest of the group enjoyed it a lot more than me. On a completely different tangent, I next read fantasy novella Faith and Moonlight, a new young adult thread to Mark Gelineau’s & Joe King’s Echo of the Ascended series.

Then I read dual time period, mystery The Butterfly Summer by Harriet Evans, which my mum had recommended to me as she knows I love a big, historical country house setting. I also finished reading the classic A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, off my Classics Club list, that I stated reading during the Christmas holiday. My full thoughts on these latter two books are still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions, I also read these two short non-fictions: The Early Life of Anne Boleyn: A Critical Essay by J. H. Round, an academic history and The Servant Queen by Mark Greene & Catherine Butcher, a charming tribute to Elizabeth II and her faith.

Pick of the Month: A Tale of Two Cities

So altogether I’ve read six books which is a really good amount for me. During the month, I have also been re-reading/listening to my Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone audiobook. While at the end of the month, I started reading Faith and Moonlight 2 by Mark Gelineau & Joe King, Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster (my March book club read) and My Lady Ludlow by Elizabeth Gaskell (my fiftieth and final book for the Classics Club).

In March, I am looking forward to celebrating my father’s birthday and Mothers’ Day, as well as another trip to the theatre this time to see Waiting for Godot.

What did you do and read in February? What are your plans for March?

12 thoughts on “Goodbye February, Hello March 2016

  1. Looks like I may not finish it, cause I grabbed the Witcher books after a friend totally sold me on it and now reading them in parallel 🙂 The Last Wish is what I’m reading along with the Aspect-Emperor now, it’s an epic read so far.

  2. I loved A Tale of Two Cities, so I’ll look forward to your thoughts on that one. The Butterfly Summer sounds interesting too.

  3. I’ve read Red Sister ARC in February (Fabulous, fabulous book!) and started reading the Aspect-Emperor series by R. Scott Bakker. Palanning to finish them in March if I can.

    1. Hello Leona, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I haven’t heard of the Aspect-Emperor series but I do hope you enjoy it and manage to finish it in March.

Leave a Reply

