Meme: The School Subjects Tag

At the end of February, I spotted this fun meme, created by Not-So-Modern Girl, at FictionFan’s wonderful blog, who kindly tagged anyone who fancied giving it a go. So without further ado here is my go at it:

1. Maths – What’s a book that left your head spinning in circles?

I recently read Surprised by Hope by Tom Wright, for my church’s book club, which certainly left my head spinning, as it went into some deep theology on death, heaven, forgiveness and the resurrection.

2. English – Which book do you think has beautiful written expression?

The novel with the most beautiful written expression for me has to be Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier – I was totally swept away by it all and I felt nearly every line could make a good quote!

3. Physics – Who is your favourite scientifically minded character from a book/film?

I suppose that would have to be Victor Frankenstein, a mad scientist that re-animates a man’s body in Mary Shelley classic, gothic novel. While I can’t say I necessarily ‘like’ him as a person, he is fascinating to read about.

4. Biology – Who is your favourite book/film/series character?

As there are so many great characters to choose from, I am just going to go with my first thought which was Samwise Gamgee. He is kind, brave, loyal and probably the best friend you could ever have, and he’s in a wonderful series of books and films.

5. Chemistry – Who is your favourite literary couple?

Again I can think of so many lovely couples (in fact recently I did a top ten list) however I need to narrow it down. Personally I think Jane Austen’s couples are still some of the very best you can read about, so I am going to choose Emma and Knightley because they are so funny and sweet together.

6. French – What is your favourite foreign book/film/programme?

I haven’t read a great deal of foreign literature but one I have and that I love is The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas. Plus I love the 1973 film and I have been enjoying the BBC’s current TV series too.

7. Art – Have you ever judged a book by its cover, even if you weren’t meant to?!

I am always judging books by their covers! A bad cover wouldn’t stop me reading a book, but on the other hand a pretty cover would definitely encourage me to buy/read a book.

8. History – What was the last historical book you read?

The last historical book I read was the classic A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens which took us back to the bloody ‘Reign of Terror’ in Paris during the French Revolution.

9. Drama – What’s a book that you think has a lot of over-dramatic hype?

Sadly I think The Shack by William Paul Young has been dramatically over-hyped. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy many parts of it but I was left feeling disappointed when all of it didn’t live up to my high expectations.

10. Geography – Which literary destination would you really like to visit? (They can be real or fictional!)

As FictionFan already chose The Shire (and promised I could go with her), I am going to choose my second favourite destination in Middle Earth which is Rivendell, the last friendly home of the Elves before the Misty Mountains.


Like FictionFan did, I tag anyone who fancies having ago either in the comments below or in a post on their own blog. Just let me know!

Do you agree with any of my choices? What books would you choose for these subjects?

12 thoughts on “Meme: The School Subjects Tag

  1. Ooh, great choices and I love the logo you made! And thanks for the link! 😀

    Ah, yes, Sam! Funny, I never include him on lists of heroes but he’s so lovely and so brave – he definitely deserves a place. Coincidentally I was writing my review of Rebecca last night and you’re so right – her writing is fabulous, especially when she’s describing nature. And can I please come to Rivendell too? After the night at the Green Dragon, of course!

    1. Thank you and your welcome FF 🙂 I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed reading Rebecca, so I am looking forward to reading your review. And, of course you can come to Rivendell with me – we can go on a Middle Earth road trip 😀

Leave a Reply

