Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR

There are many wonderful books awaiting me on my bookshelf and Kindle, however here are ten books I am particularly looking forward to reading this Spring (ordered alphabetically by title):

~ 1 ~

A Dance with Dragons, Part 1: Dreams and Dust by George RR Martin

I am hope throwing myself into another epic instalment of Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series will help me get through to the later premiere for series seven of Game of Thrones!

~ 2 ~

Cauldstane by Linda Gillard

Gillard is one of my favourite authors and last year, I was thrilled to top up my Kindle with three of her novels. This is one of them which I think I fancy reading first.

~ 3 ~

First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson

At first I was planning to read The Agincourt Bride next, but I recently received a copy of this, Hickson’s newest novel, that has now taken precedence.

~ 4 ~

The Girl in the Glass Tower by Elizabeth Fremantle

Likewise I was planning to read Queen’s Gambit next, but again I recently received a copy of this, one of Fremantle’s newer novels, that has bumped itself up my reading preference.

~ 5 ~

Indiana Belle by John A Heldt

Previously, I have enjoyed Heldt’s The Mine. Since then I have acquired three more of his novels, which I really must start making my way through and this is the one I fancy trying first.

~ 6 ~

Monstrous Little Voices by edited by David Thomas Moore

I have heard wonderful things about this collection of short stories from a blogging friend, so I really hope to make time for it soon.

~ 7 ~

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

I have been meaning to read this for too long! Just I have never seemed to have the time or the right mood, however I have heard such wonderful things about it so I really must get round to it soon.

~ 8 ~

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Last year, I enjoyed the novellas Cranford and Mr Harrison’s Confessions, and I am currently reading My Lady Ludlow. This year, it would be great to try my first of Gaskell’s full-length novels.

~ 9 ~

The People the Fairies Forget by Cheryl Mahoney

I am really looking forward to delving back into Mahoney’s whimsical, fantasy world with this, her third novel, which I hope to follow up quickly with her fourth: The Lioness and the Spellspinners.

~ 10 ~

Sandlands by Rosy Thornton

I have heard wonderful things about this collection of short stories from several blogging friends, so I really hope to make time for it soon.

What books are you hoping to read this Spring? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

  1. I do hope you enjoy CAULDSTANE. If you like haunted castles and dashing Scotsmen (3 of them, all related!) I think you might.

    How I envy you being able to read MY COUSIN RACHEL for the first time. Enjoy!

    1. Thank you Linda, I certainly do love haunted castles and dashing Scotsmen, so it sounds like I picked the best one to read next 😀 You are also not the only one to mention your love for My Cousin Rachel – the more I hear, the more excited I am getting to read it!

    1. Judy, everyone is picking out My Cousin Rachel so it definitely sounds like I need to read it ASAP! I hope you enjoy Shadow Land by Elizabeth Kostova; I have heard of The Historian but sadly haven’t read it.

  2. Lots of great books on your list! My Cousin Rachel is one of my favourite du Mauriers and I enjoyed North and South, Sandlands and The Girl in the Glass Tower too. I’ll have to try something by Linda Gillard soon.

    1. Helen, great hear you enjoyed so many books off my list already 🙂 I hope you are able to try something by Linda Gillard soon – the Kindle editions are very reasonably priced.

  3. I had bought “My Cousin Rachel” discounted at Amazon, and it turned out to be a 48-pages condensed version. I was so mad! Hence I bought three other books by Du Maurier and I confirmed immediately after downloading that they had the right length.

    I hope you enjoy your reading. I look forward to your reviews.

Leave a Reply

