The Classics Club: Five Years Gone

My fellow bookworms  and classic clubbers. If you can believe it, I joined The Classics Club back on the 19th March 2012, which means today marks five years and the end of my challenge! Later in the month, I will do a top ten post for the whole challenge. For now though here is what I have read off my list in the last year:

Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Phoenix and the Carpet by Edith Nesbit

The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

The Story of the Amulet by Edith Nesbit

Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne

Mr Harrison’s Confessions by Elizabeth Gaskell

The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexandre Dumas

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

My Lady Ludlow by Elizabeth Gaskell


Which means I have completed…

50/50

I can’t really believe I have reached my goal and it is all over! If you had asked me five years ago, I probably would have said I am not sure I will actually read fifty books, however it would be great just to read more classics. Now I need to make the tough decision of whether I go for another fifty by making another list?! If I do it won’t be straight away as I think I deserve a little bit of a break first. For now, keep your eyes peeled for my top ten post which will be coming soon.

Have you read any of these? What classics have you enjoyed over the last year?

18 thoughts on “The Classics Club: Five Years Gone

  1. I love being part of the Classics Club — so much more fun than assigned reading in school! Congrats on reaching your goal and good luck in figuring out next steps. I look forward to your top ten list too.

    E Nesbit and Elizabeth Gaskell are two of my favorite writers, and I’ve read and enjoyed all the Sherlock Holmes stories. As I mentioned earlier I’d really like to read A Tale of Two Cities, and I should read some Dumas as well. Neither is on my current list though – so many books!!

    1. Thank you Lory 😀 I have thoroughly enjoyed everything I read by Nesbit and Gaskell, and loved all of the Sherlock Holmes mysteries. I wish you all the best with your continued classics reading – I can highly recommend A Tale of Two Cities and The Three Musketeers by Dumas 🙂

  2. Congratulations! Well done for sticking to it! And of course you must do it again – you know I’m just going to keep nagging until you submit… 😉 Looking forward to seeing what your top ten were…

  3. Congratulations, Jessica! That’s a great achievement. I’ve already failed my challenge as the deadline has passed and I still have four more books to read, but I’m still planning to keep going until I’ve finished them all.

  4. Congratulations, Jessica, well done! I think you can relax a bit for a while with classics; some of them were door stoppers. I have set myself the goal of reading more classics as well, but without a number in mind. I read one Fitzgerald novel in January, and started another one in February that bored me senseless, so I put it aside. Perhaps I’ll pick it up another time. I’m also planning to read two Du Mauriers in the next few months. Let’s see how that goes.

    I look forward to your top ten post. 🙂

    1. Thank you Carmen 🙂 I think I do deserve a bit of a rest now! I wish you all the best with your own personal challenge to read more classics. I must admit that I didn’t get on well with any of the Fitzgerald’s I’ve read, but I have loved everything I have read by Du Maurier so I hope you get on better with those.

  5. you’ve done really well!

    I have another year left of my five years and if I’m going to read all fifty I shall have to read 28 books before April 2018 – I can’t see that happening! I’ve read just 5 classics for example since this time last year.

    of the ones you’ve listed in this post I’ve read:

    Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

    The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

    The Sign of the Four by Arthur Conan Doyle

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

    but not for my list – I read them years ago.

    1. Thank you Margaret 😀 You’ve read a fair few of these classics before joining the club then. Good luck with your last year of your list – it does seem a steep order to read 28 books, but as long as this challenge has helped you to read more classics, a specific amount isn’t too important 🙂

  6. It’s a woohoo moment :D. Wow Jessica – what an achievement. I don’t know whether you should be really pleased – which obviously you should, or slightly sad – because there’s nothing like a personal challenge is there? Will you make yourself a new list or is that it now for the classics, just pick them up at random whenever you feel like it instead of having a plan in place? I’ve done terribly with my challenge. I started off strong and then basically I started taking on too many review books so all my other good intentions went pear shaped. I’m finally clawing things back in that respect and soon should be able to start having more a mix of my own and review books which will be nice.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you Lynn 😀 I must admit while I am pleased to have finished I am also a little sad, as it has been such a big thing in my reading life. As I said above, it will be a tough decision whether I go for another list. If I do it won’t be straight away as I think I deserve a little bit of a break first! I wish you all the best with your list 🙂

Leave a Reply

