The Classics Club: My Top Ten Reads

My fellow bookworms  and classic clubbers, as promised here is my top ten list of books, ordered alphabetically, from my epic fifty books and five year challenge:

~ 1 ~

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

The timeless, warm-hearted tale of the ghostly and redemptive journey of the infamous miser Ebenezer Scrooge.

~ 2 ~

Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

A delightful and eccentric adventure around the world with wealthy English gentlemen Phileas Fogg and his French manservant Passepartout.

~ 3 ~

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell

A touching and charming tale that follows the lives of the women of Cranford, a small rural town in Victorian England.

~ 4 ~

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle

A gothic, atmospheric Holmes and Watson mystery out on the foggy, lonely moors, in search of a diabolical hound.

~ 5 ~

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

An utterly charming novel that chronicles the struggles, tribulations, and joys of the four March sisters as they grow from children into women.

~ 6 ~

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

A wonderful tale of young women trying to find their way in the world, and I think it really is a tale full of universal truths that do not change during the ages.

~ 7 ~

The Railway Children by E Nesbit

A charming Edwardian children’s classic that follows middle-class siblings Roberta, Phyllis and Peter as they are forced to start a new life in the country.

~ 8 ~

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

A charming children’s classic that follows an unloved orphan Mary Lennox as she starts a new life in her uncle’s home, Misselthwaite Manor.

~ 9 ~

The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

A sweeping historic and romantic novel that follows the swashbuckling adventures of D’Artagnan and his friends Aramis, Porthos and Athos.

~ 10 ~

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

A rip-roaring adventure that takes us to sea in search of treasure with young Jim Hawkins and the devious Long John Silver.

Have you read any of these? What are some of your favourite classics?

12 thoughts on “The Classics Club: My Top Ten Reads

  1. What a great list – I’ve read all of these except Cranford – I’ll have to pick that one up soon – if we have so many things in common I’m sure I’ll love this one too. Great cover for the Hound.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I have read 5 of your list. Little Women and The Secret Garden I read over and over as a young girl. I have also seen several adaptations of both. Other favorite classics I have read recently are Crime and Punishment and Dracula.

    1. Judy, it is great to hear you loved Little Women and The Secret Garden so much as a girl; I wish I’d read these as a child! Some years before joining The Classics Club, I read some of my dad’s collection of classic novels which included Dracula, while I am not sure I will ever pluck up the bravery/energy to read any of the Russian classics 😀

  3. I’ve read six – A Christmas Carol, Around the World in Eighty Days, The Hound of the Baskervilles, Little Women, P&P, and Treasure Island – all great books, I agree! Of the others, Cranford is the one I’d most like to read. Are they in order? If so, I’m thrilled to see Dickens make the top spot! 😀

    1. FF I am so pleased to hear you have read and loved so many of these wonderful classics too! I must apologise as I forgot to say these are ordered alphabetically, however A Christmas Carol would be a very strong contender to be number one anyway – in fact there were many other Dickens’ books I wanted to include on this list, but I decided to limit myself to one 😛

  4. Great list! Little Women, Cranford, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Secret Garden, Pride and Prejudice, and The Railway Children are among my favorite books. I think I have to put The Three Musketeers on my list, as we’ve discussed before. 🙂

  5. I’ve read all of these, and enjoyed them all, but there are some 20th c classics authors that I also really love, for example, Daphne du Maurier and Rumer Godden. Plus children’s authors such as Arthur Ransome, Leon Garfield, Mary Norton and so on… (my list is endless!)

    1. Margaret, I am so pleased to hear you’ve read and enjoyed all of these! I also love Daphne du Maurier, but I didn’t read any of her work for The Classics Club as I was trying to push myself to read earlier classics. Coincidentally though, I recently popped My Cousin Rachel onto my bedside table to start reading 😀

Leave a Reply

