Top Ten Tuesday: Meeting Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Authors I’m Dying To Meet / Ten Authors I Can’t Believe I’ve Met(some other “meeting authors” type spin you want to do)

If I am honest, I am simply happy to read and enjoy books without feeling the need to meet the authors, so this is a really hard topic for me! Without any authors I am ‘dying to meet’  or ‘can’t believe I have met’, here instead is a list of ten authors, listed alphabetically, who I think I would have a jolly good time with if I did/had by chance met them:

~ 1 ~

Jane Austen

Yes, I understand I would need a little time travel to achieve this, but hey if she was even half as witty as her books we’d have a hoot together.

~ 2 ~

Linda Gillard

Having exchanged a few pleasant emails with Linda, I think she seemed lovely enough to spend an afternoon chatting and sipping tea with…you never know I could get the scoop on any new books too!

~ 3 ~

Susanna Kearsley

I think we have a good chance of getting on as Kearsley just seems to write the type of stories and female characters I dig…great minds perhaps?

~ 4 ~

C S Lewis

Yes, time travel required again, but I think it goes without saying it would have been amazing to be back in Oxford to join the Inklings for a pint and pick this great author’s mind on faith and Narnia!

~ 5 ~

Isabel Losada

After reading two of Losada’s crazy, brutally honest, inspirational books, I think we’d have a great time together.

~ 6 ~

Cheryl Mahoney

Slightly cheating as we have been blogging friends for a few years now, but still Cheryl is a wonderful author I know I would get on with.

~ 7 ~

George RR Martin

Being the creating of the epic A Song of Ice and Fire series…he’s got to be interesting, right?

~ 8 ~

Daphne du Maurier

As the queen of gothic, suspense novels I think du Maurier would be a fascinating person to chat with on a sunny day in Cornwall.

~ 9 ~

Terry Pratchett

Well simply this man is a legend of humour and fantasy, who I think would have been an absolute hoot to have met.

~ 10 ~

JRR Tolkien

Almost ditto to C S Lewis above, except I would pick this great author’s mind on Middle-Earth instead.

What authors would you like to meet? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Meeting Authors

  1. Who wouldn’t love the idea of sitting in a cozy pub sharing a pint or two with Tokien and Lewis? Though I do think that sometimes it’s best not to meet someone who admire – it can just be so disappointing if they don’t like up to your expectations!

    1. Hello Jane, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I totally agree that it can be best not to meet someone who you admire, because of the disappointing if they don’t live up to your high expectations!

  2. I’d be delighted to meet you too, Jessica! I love to meet my readers. Btw, I met Susanna Kearsley when we were both shortlisted for an award. I’m sure you’d love her warm, Canadian personality.

  3. I didn’t take part in this week’s topic as it’s a hard one for me as well, but I love your list! I’m sure Jane Austen and Daphne du Maurier would both be fascinating to talk to. I would need a time machine to visit most of my favourite authors too. 🙂

  4. Like you, I’m really more interested in reading the books than meeting the authors, but this is a great list! I’d add Charles Dickens – I bet he was the life and soul of every party – and Reginald Hill, partly because I love his humour and partly because I always regret not making the effort while he was still alive to tell him how much pleasure his books gave me.

  5. Who wouldn’t want to meet Tolkien and C.S. Lewis?
    I think I’d love to join one of their Inklings meetings at Eagle & Child.

Leave a Reply

