Adaptations: March 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched during March:

Logan (2017)
Not Read     Film     Cinema

The long-awaited and final instalment in the Wolverine thread of the highly popular X-Men film franchise; based on the characters from Marvel Comics. After an apocalyptic style event wipes out most of the world’s mutants, Logan is left with little to live for until he meets a girl like him. A bloody, gritty and realistic film which is a serious and refreshing change from a regular comic book film.

***


Persuasion (1995)
Read     TV Film     Television

BBC period drama based on Jane Austen’s classic novel, one of six adaptations of her novels produced during the mid-90s, which is the first of this novel I have seen. A mature and realistic portrayal of Anne and Wentworth’s complicated, heart breaking relationship. While the film quality looked a little aged, I think the style and acting performances are timeless.

***


SS-GB (2017)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

New BBC alternate-history drama, based on Len Deighton’s 1978 novel, that takes us back to November 1941 where we follow Detective Archer during a routine murder investigation but in a Nazis occupied Britain. An eerily realistic and stylish look into the uneasy alliances, dangerous tensions and political intrigues between the occupied and occupiers.

***


Wow that’s another three 3* (my highest rating) adaptations; I can already see that picking my top 10 could be harder this year! I also enjoyed a comforting re-watch of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005), so altogether I have watched four adaptations in March. Also this month, I continued to enjoy new series The Emerald City; an adult re-working of L Frank Baum’s ‘Oz’.

As for non-adaptations, I watched series one of ITV’s wonderful bio-drama Victoria (2016), which stars the lovely Jenna Coleman as the young Queen Victoria.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

12 thoughts on “Adaptations: March 2017

  1. The only one I’ve seen is that version of Persuasion but I don’t remember it very well. I’ve recently watched the adaptation of Testament of Youth (Vera Brittain’s memoir) which I thought was just brilliantly done. I’m still thinking about it!

      1. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think. I’ve been trying to convince some not-so-bookish friends to try it, but no luck so far.

        1. BIP, after your glowing praise of a Testament of Youth I bumped it straight to the top of my watch list and I thought it was great. My little write-up of it will be in my next adaptation post 🙂

  2. I’ve been busy watching the movies that competed at the Oscars in the main categories. I recently watched A Tale of Love and Darkness starring Natalie Portman that is an adaptation from Amos Oz’s autobiography of the same name.

Leave a Reply

