Goodbye March, Hello April 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? March is another month which seems to have just flown by for me! We celebrated my dad’s birthday early on and later there was Mothers’ Day. I also watched some great adaptations and I managed another trip to the theatre; this time to see a production of Samuel Beckett’s Waiting for Godot. Now here are the books I’ve been reading:

Fiction: 3          Non-Fiction: 1

First, I read Faith and Moonlight: Part 2 by Mark Gelineau & Joe King, which continues the young adult thread of their Echo of the Ascended fantasy series. Now, I have run out of their novellas so Mr Gelineau & Mr King please get writing! Next, I read the charming novella My Lady Ludlow by Elizabeth Gaskell – a bittersweet read as it was my fiftieth and final book for The Classics Club. Finally, I indulged in a comforting re-read of Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener by M C Beaton, which is the third instalment in Beaton’s long-running cosy crime series. My full thoughts on this final book are still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions, I also read a short non-fiction about John F Kennedy from Mark Black’s A Very Brief History series; after having previously read about Richard Nixon, I thought I would keep the president theme going. My full thoughts on this book are also still to be posted.

Also during the month,  I wrapped up my epic five year Classic Club challenge with refection posts: Five Years Gone and My Top Ten Reads..

Pick of the Month: My Lady Ludlow

So altogether I’ve read four books which is a pretty average amount for me. Although, I am very close to finishing a Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster as well. I have also been intermittently re-reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone via audiobook (usually while I do my ironing!) and I’ve started reading Indiana Belle by John A. Heldt and My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier.

In April, I am looking forward to celebrating Easter and the two week holiday that comes with it – hopefully there will be lots of time to read!

What did you do and read in March? What are your plans for April?

6 thoughts on “Goodbye March, Hello April 2017

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 If I am honest, I finally picked up the short history of Richard Nixon because it had an ‘x’ in the title, which fitted a category in the What’s in a Name 2017 challenge 😀

  1. I loved My Lady Ludlow too , long time since I read it. I really hope you enjoy My Cousin Rachel I thought it was brilliant. I bought a copy of it for my mum at Christmas and she loved it.

Leave a Reply

