New Books: March 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, during March these are the goodies I added to my Kindle and bookshelf:

Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster

The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley

First, I popped over to Amazon to order a copy of Celebration of Discipline for my church’s book club. Whilst there I spotted that The Firebird, off my wish list, was being offered for a good price, and together I could have free postage and packaging…so obviously I had to order both!

The Shadow Queen by Anne O’Brien

The Mistress of Blackstairs by Catherine Curzon

Dunstan by Conn Iggulden

Then over the month, I was very lucky to receive these three historical fictions via Netgalley. I have previously enjoyed novels by Anne O’Brien, while Catherine Curzon and Conn Iggulden are new-to-me authors; although I have heard a lot of good stuff about Iggulden.

Freefall by Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams

Finally, during a mooch around my favourite charity book shops, I snapped up a copy of this; which is book three in Gordon and Williams’ bestselling Tunnels series. I have previously really enjoyed reading the majority of this series, but I borrowed the books so I am now trying to build my own collection. Annoyingly, though I haven’t found book two yet.

Do you fancy any of these? What new books did you get in March?

12 thoughts on “New Books: March 2017

  1. I’m quite keen to read the Shadow Queen, I’ll be interested to see what you think. I’m in a slump now I’ve read all of the darker shade of Magic series. Maybe a need a new fantasy fix! The Firebird sounds good too! Happy reading!

    1. Hello Faye, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am sorry to hear you are in a slump now – I hope you find your new fantasy fix to sort that out! Happy reading to you too 😀

  2. I like the look of the Iggulden book and saw it on NG. I was so tempted! But, I’m trying to behave at the moment, reduce my review copies and be a bit more realistic about it – still *sobs*
    Lynn 😀

  3. The Firebird is one of my favourites so far by Susanna Kearsley – I hope you enjoy it! I’ll be interested to know what The Mistress of Blackstairs is like. I noticed it on Netgalley but didn’t request it.

    1. Thank you Helen – it is largely down to your praise of The Firebird that made me so keen to get my hands on a copy 🙂 As for The Mistress of Blackstairs, I know little to nothing about it or the author, but I couldn’t resist a historical mystery!

  4. I should keep a list of books bought but I forget to. I went on a bit of a buying spree in March. I can only blame to slow arrival of spring here. I do remember I bought both of Rachel Kusk’s recent novels, Outline and Transit, as well as a biography of James Baldwin. Enjoy your reading!

  5. I’m interested to hear what you think of the Iggulden. I’m often tempted by his books, but I get the impression they tend to be pretty gory, sword and battle stuff. I’m hoping you’ll convince me I’ve got the wrong end of the stick!

Leave a Reply

