Awards: One Lovely Blog Award

Hello my fellow bookworms, I am so pleased to share that I was nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by Shameeka’s Fictional World; thank you Shameeka! The rules to take part are simple:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to them.
  • Share 7-15 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 9-15 bloggers you admire and contact them.

10 Facts About Me:

  1. If you read this blog regularly you will know I love to read, but you may not know that this is actually my eighth year blogging here about books.
  2. My favourite genres to read are: fantasy, historical fiction and mystery.
  3. Some of my favourite authors are: JRR Tolkien, Jane Austen, CS Lewis, Daphne du Maurier, Terry Pratchett, Susanna Kearsley and Charles Dickens.
  4. My favourite place to read is snuggled up in a blanket with a mug of tea (preferably peppermint or camomile); even better if my cat Bonnie comes to snuggle with me.
  5. As well as reading, I love to watch adaptations of said books which I discuss in monthly posts.
  6. I also have a new-found love of cooking and cookbooks, so I have also started doing monthly posts for that too.
  7. I particularly enjoy cooking and eating large, comforting one-pot dishes like stews, soups, casseroles and curry…especially curry!
  8. Outside of blogging, I work one-to-one with children that have special educational needs in a primary school.
  9. My other hobbies are: watching television and films; going to the cinema and theatre; and dancing: I have been a member of a local belly dance group for about 7 years.
  10. Finally, but certainly not least, I am a practicing Christian and an active member of my local church. I recently led my first Holy Communion service! However you will usually find me with my hand up a puppet in the kid’s club.

My Nominations:

I have decided not to contact each nomination personally, because I have done this award several times over the years, as I am sure others have too, so I don’t want anyone to feel pressured to join in again. If you do join in, great! If you don’t that’s fine too – I just wanted to say a big thank you for all your wonderful writing and I want others to know about you too.

14 thoughts on “Awards: One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks so much Jessica! As you know we share many of the same favorite authors — though I have yet to read any Susanna Kearsley, must do something about that. I don’t know if I have time for writing an award post but I am certainly honored you named me, and in such good company. Cheers!

    1. You are very welcome Lory 🙂 As I said in the post, please don’t worry if you are not able to take part I just wanted you and others to know how lovely your blog is 😀

  2. Yours is a lovely blog, Jessica! And it’s good to know more about you – working with children with special needs is such a special thing to do! Thanks for nominating me too … now can I think of anything interesting about me that I haven’t written about before???

    1. Thank you Margaret and you are very welcome, you have a lovely blog too 🙂 I hope you are able to think of some facts about yourself you haven’t written about before! And, yes I absolutely love my work – it can be very hard but also so rewarding.

  3. This is well deserved because you really do have a lovely blog. Thanks for the nomination, I will certainly take part – I enjoy doing these sort of thing – not all the time obviously, but they’re a break from the norm.
    Lynn 😀

  4. Congrats on the award! Eight years – goodness! That makes me feel like a blog-baby! 😉 I love your list of favourite authors, all of whom I agree with, except Terry Pratchett, who I always wished I enjoyed but just don’t, and Susanna Kearsley, whom I’ve never tried – so I shall add one of her books to my wishlist. Do you have a recommendation?

    Thanks for the nomination and lovely comment! 😀 I may struggle to think of ten interesting things about me, though… 😉

    1. Thank you FF and you are very welcome, you have a really lovely, interesting blog whether its younger or not 🙂 As for recommendations, I have actually enjoyed everything I have read by Susanna Kearsley and I find it hard to pick between The Rose Garden and Marianna as my favourites, so I would definitely recommend either of them. Other Kearsley’s fan also rave about The Firebird which I am really looking forward to reading myself! 😀

      1. Thank you – they both look good, so I’ve added Marianna to my wishlist, but may swap it for The Firebird if you manage to read and review it before I get to Marianna… 😀

  5. Congratulations on your award, Jessica, and thanks for nominating me. It was good to learn a little bit more about you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

