Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Ons

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

This topic was originally done back in 2013 way before I started taking part, so it is brand new for me. Here are my top ten turn-ons when it comes to books and my reading (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Cosy-Crime

While now and again I do enjoy a gripping, psychological thriller on the whole in my reading I prefer a steady, cosy murder mystery. Something easy on the brain.

~ 2 ~

Dragons

From the cruel, cunning Smaug from The Hobbit to the noble, serene Saphira from Eragon…who doesn’t love a dragon?!

~ 3 ~

Fairy Tales

Since childhood I have loved fairy tales, now as an adult I love novels that are inspired by or put a twist on these classic fairy tales too.

~ 4 ~

Gothic

Some of my all-time favourite books come under the sub-genre of gothic, including: Frankenstein, Wuthering Heights, Rebecca and The Hound of the Baskervilles.

~ 5 ~

Historical Setting

I absolutely love escaping in my reading to a time gone by. Whether that’s to a romantic, nostalgic time period or to a bloody, turbulent one, which you will be very pleased you weren’t born into!

~ 6 ~

Magical Creatures

I know I mentioned dragons already, but really any magical creature peeks my interest, including: fairies, elves, unicorns, goblins, centaurs, fauns, daemons, giants…and many more.
(Yes, I absolutely adored the Fantastic Beasts film!)

~ 7 ~

Mystery

As discussed before I love cosy-crime, I also love a sweeping mystery…preferably containing family secrets, history and a large, country house.

~ 8 ~

Strong Females

I love a strong female protagonist. From the witty Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice, to the kick-ass Katniss Everdene from The Hunger Games. Go girl power!

~ 9 ~

Talking Animals

It could be a book, film, TV show or even an advert…but if it has a talking animal in it you’ve got me! C S Lewis’ Narnia feeds this love of mine the best.

~ 10 ~

Time Travel/Time-Slip

Susanna Kearsley, one of my favourite authors, is pretty much the queen of time-slip novels. Not only do we get to view a time gone by, but we get to vicariously experience it through a modern-day, relatable character.

What makes you want to instantly read a book? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

Come back next week, for my book turn-offs!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Ons

  1. Great choices – most of those would be on my list too. I don’t often read books with dragons or magical creatures, but when I do I usually enjoy them. 🙂

  2. Love historical fiction though I don’t seem to read an awful lot of it at the moment. Sorry, dragons just don’t do it for me – not cuddly, you see! But I do like a nice cosy or a golden age mystery – modern crime is often too depressingly real for me. You forgot to mention Darcy…

    1. Haha literally just as the notification came through for this comment, I was watching Pride and Prejudice (2005). What is the chances of that?! I do love Darcy in his original context, but I don’t have the greatest urge to read many of the spin-off books though. As for dragons, what about Falkor from the Neverending Story? He is a furry, cuddly dragon? 😀

  3. Strong females: yes. Magical creatures: yes, or magicians. Time travel: yes. I think I have gotten over the dragon thing but that might be temporary. Then there are my favorite authors: I read everything they publish. Margaret Atwood, Toni Morrison and Barbara Kingsolver.

    1. Judy, you are definitely a lady after my own heart with strong females, magical creatures and time travel…hopefully the dragon love comes back 😛 I did also think about naming favourite authors who I will read anything by, but I thought my list would get completely taken over by them 😀

Leave a Reply

