Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Offs

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

This is another topic that is new for me, but was original done back in 2013 before I started joining in. Last week, you found out my book turn-ons. Now here are my top ten book turn-offs, those things that really put me off reading something (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Blood and Gore

I understand with my love of crime, mystery and historical fiction now and again there will be blood shed, however I really don’t like an excessive description of all the blood and gore.

~ 2 ~

Depressing Drama

Death, divorce, abuse and lost children, sort-of-drama is really not my bag – life is full of this while I generally want to escape all that in my reading.

~ 3 ~

Explicit Sex Scenes

I get it people have sex and sometimes it is appropriate to the story, but I really don’t need to be told about it in explicit, blow-by-blow detail.

~ 4 ~

Horror

Okay being honest, I am simply one big wimp! So on the whole I don’t tend to read horror unless it is diluted by another genre, i.e. gothic horror or fantasy horror.

~ 5 ~

Love Triangles

Yes, there are some very good love triangles in literature, however recently I think it has been wildly over-used particularly in young adult fiction. Let’s be realistic every teenage girl does not have two guys chasing after her.

~ 6 ~

Modern Literary Fiction

In its very definition literary fiction involves social commentary, political criticism or focus on the human condition. All well and good for me if it as an element of a book but not as its sole purpose. Again the real world is full of this and I read to escape all that.

~ 7 ~

Over-Hype

If I am bombarded with advertisements, endorsements, reviews and people telling me I must read a book, I can really be put off a book. This could be because I become annoyed or fear that the book could never live up to the high expectations.

~ 8 ~

Romance

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good romantic thread to a book, but I avoid books that have romance as the sole and only thread.

~ 9 ~

Technical Science-Fiction

I love science-fiction and there is nothing wrong with technical detail except that it usually goes straight over my head!

~ 10 ~

Truly Unlikable Characters

Characters don’t have to be good and perfect, however I do need to connect or find something likable about them. Otherwise I struggle to invest my time in them or their story.

What puts you off reading a book? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book Turn-Offs

  1. Great post and I agree with all of these. I definitely don’t read romance if that’s the sole thread for the book – I have nothing against it being a part of the book but not the sole focus.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I agree with most of those, especially the explicit sex scenes and the over-hype. I used to read a lot of horror as a teenager but my tastes have changed over the years (or I’ve become more of a coward) and I tend to avoid it now!

    1. Helen, they do say great mind think alike 😉 I also read and watched more horror as a teenager too (I devoured every Point Horror book going) but not anymore – I think it is because I think about it too much now!

  3. I pretty much agree with you on most of these points. I like a political content to lit-fic, but not when it reaches the stage of hammering home a “message”, which so much of it seems to be doing at the moment. And while I don’t want a constant diet of “cosy”, I certainly don’t want dismal misery either. Ans as for explicit sex scenes – ugh!

Leave a Reply

