Adaptations: April 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched during April:

Testament of Youth (2015)
Not Read     Film     Television

A sumptuous period drama based on the memoir of Vera Brittain (Alicia Vikander), an independent young woman who abandoned her Oxford studies to become a war nurse. A heart-breaking portrayal of the love and losses of WWI. Also starring Taron Egerton as Vera’s brother and Kit Harington and Colin Morgan as his best friends; strong performances from the whole cast. I warn you tissues are needed for watching this one!

***


Oblivion (2013)
Not Read     Film     Television

Post-apocalyptic, visual effects bonanza based on the graphic novel written by the director Joseph Kosinski. The Earth is a desolate wasteland after a cataclysmic war with an alien race, that forced the human race to relocate to Titan. Now only Tech 49 (Tom Cruise) and his partner remain to maintain the machinery….but all is not as it seems! An action packed, old school adventure in the vein of classic science-fiction films.

**


Emerald City (2017)
Read     TV Series     Television

A brand new fantasy series which has put an adult twist on L. Frank Baum’s ‘Land of Oz’. In this series, a young nurse, Dorothy Gale, is transported by a tornado from Kansas to the magical land of Oz, where she will unwittingly be fulfilling a dark prophecy. I thoroughly enjoyed this colourful new series and I was intrigued by the refreshing, interesting twists it put on Baum’s original characters and themes. I hope there will be another series.

**


Over the Easter break, I also enjoyed re-watches of the classic The Railway Children (1970); the hilarious Guardians of the Guardians (2014) and the wonderful Pride and Prejudice (2005), all of which were being shown on terrestrial television, and then Fantastic Beasts (2016) which shockingly was my brother’s first watch of this amazing film. So altogether that’s an impressive seven adaptations watched this month.

As for non-adaptations, I was absolutely gripped by the chilling second series of Fortitude and the emotionally exhausting, third series of ITV’s brilliant Broadchurch.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

14 thoughts on “Adaptations: April 2017

  1. I have read Testament of Youth but haven’t seen the adaptation yet. The book was heartbreaking, so I can imagine that the film must be as well.

  2. I’ve seen Oblivion and really enjoyed it. I’d really like to watch Fantastic Beasts. I don’t seem to have done much film watching recently. although I did re-watch The Book Thief when it was on TV earlier this month.

    1. Nikki-Ann, I am pleased you also enjoyed Oblivion and I also saw The Book Thief was on TV, but sadly I only caught the end of this wonderful film. I hope you are able to watch Fantastic Beasts soon as I can’t recommend it enough; I adored it! 🙂

  3. I like the premise of Testament of Youth. I’ll look for it. I was very intrigued by Oblivion, but have never been able to put into words what the movie was about or my thoughts on it.

    In the last few weeks I have been watching Season 2 of Outlander, Pride and Prejudice (1995) miniseries, and The Night Manager, which I finished watching last night.

    1. Carmen, I hoped you enjoyed Pride and Prejudice (199) and The Night Manager; I thought they were both great! I also hope you are able to find Testament of Youth to watch…remember tissues required!

  4. Have you read the book Testament of Youth? The movie was good, but the book is incredible. I can’t recommend it enough. 🙂

  5. Testament of Youth sounds good, especially since I love Alicia Vikander. I have added it to my Netflix queue. In April I have seen two adaptations: A Tale of Love and Darkness (from the memoir by Amos Oz) and Indignation (from the novel by Philip Roth.) Both were excellent, I thought.

Leave a Reply

