Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Summer Reads Freebie

Summer is on its way! No really it is! Although, if you’re here in the UK with me, you can be forgiven for thinking it may never come with this month’s miserable weather. Yet no matter the weather outside we can always escape into a good book, so I thought I’d share these wonderful books set in summer with you (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin

In the fictional land of Westeros seasons actually last years not months. The story opens when it has been summer for many years but now … winter is coming!

~ 2 ~

A Midsummer’s Night Dream by William Shakespeare

On one warm midsummer night, four lovers, a troupe of amateur actors and fairies are brought together for a fantastical comedy of errors.

~ 3 ~

Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury

A tale of one long, surreal summer for young Douglas in a small fictional US town in 1928.

~ 4 ~

The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and their dog Timmy seem to enjoy endless summers of camping, picnicking, exploring and solving mysteries.

~ 5 ~

Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit

Robert, Anthea, Cyril, Jane and their baby brother, the Lamb, have their first  magical encounter with ‘It’ during their summer holiday.

~ 6 ~

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Okay, I am not a fan of the characters in this book, however it cannot be denied it is a classic set in a sultry summer in the roaring twenties.

~ 7 ~

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

When Eva loses her sister Katrina, she leaves California and returns to Cornwall, where they spent their childhood summers.

~ 8 ~

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The sleepy summer in a small, Southern town is rocked by the trial of Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a young white woman.

~ 9 ~

The Villa in Italy by Elizabeth Edmondson

Delia and Jessica skip the country for sun, sea and secrets in a beautiful Renaissance villa on the Italian coast.

~ 10 ~

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

While all seasons are in this, the abiding memories are of Mole and Ratty spending lazy summer days on the river.

Can you think of any other books set in summer? Also, please link in the comments below if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Books

  1. This is a lovely mix of adult and children’s books – but it’s making me wonder again how I missed The Wind in the Willows as a child when I read ^everything^ I could! Would an adult enjoy the charms of this book – or would I be left feeling miserably unenchanted because I’m too old and cynical to enjoy it now? What do you think?
    If you like Mary Stewart, you might like my take on this week’s TTT: beaches in Mary Stewart novels https://www.marystewartreading.wordpress.com/2017/05/23/top-ten-tuesday-beaches/

    1. Thank you Alison 🙂 I think I read The Wind in the Willows as a child, but I remembered little to nothing about it. So I re-read last year and I thought it was still a very enjoyable read for an adult, who is young at heart. And, I love Mary Stewart 😀

  2. I’m yet to read Five Children and It, though I loved the TV series they made, Return of the Psammead. Thank you for the Kearsley recommendation, one I hadn’t heard of (slowly learning about them). Was Mariana set in summer? I seem to remember it was.

    1. Charlie, The Rose Garden is up there as one of my Kearsley favourites, alongside Marianna. I believe that was also set in summer, however this came instantly to mind because it is set on the Cornish coast as well 🙂

  3. Great list this week, Jessica! I’m interested in reading Dandelion Wine after enjoying Something Wicked This Way Comes last year.

  4. And here in the desert southwest US, summer arrived two months ago. Great selections – a wide variety to keep you entertained.

  5. There’s too much heat here in India, wish it was rainy season already. If you only we could swap our seasons lol.
    Here’s my TTT

  6. Oh, other books set in summer. Hmm. Kerouac’s On the Road takes place in a summer, doesn’t it? Also, a lot of Stephen King books, but I’m thinking specifically of Joyland and The Stand (oh and of course his short story, “The Body,” which became the film Stand By Me.)

    1. Thank you 🙂 I’m afraid I haven’t read On the Road or any of King’s ‘proper’ horror novels; I did love his dark fantasy series The Dark Tower though.

Leave a Reply

