Challenge: 10 Books of Summer 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, June is almost upon us which will be the official start of summer and in turn Cathy’s 20 Books of Summer challenge (with the options to read 10 or 15 books as well). Again, I am aiming for the 10 book goal this year. Here are the books, in alphabetical order, I hope to read:

  1. A Dance with Dragons, Part 1: Dreams and Dust by George R R Martin
  2. First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson
  3. The Girl in the Glass Tower by Elizabeth Fremantle
  4. The Lioness and the Spellspinners by Cheryl Mahoney
  5. [Re-Read] Northern Lights by Philip Pullman
  6. Pyramids by Terry Pratchett
  7. Sandlands by Rosy Thornton
  8. Sandokan, The Tigers of Mompracem by Emilio Salgari
  9. Wendy Darling, Volume 3: Shadow by Colleen Oakes
  10. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

The challenge runs till the end of summer (3rd September), so just after that I will check back in with you all to discuss what I manage to read!

Are you taking part in this summer challenge? Are there any of these books you think I should read first?

25 thoughts on “Challenge: 10 Books of Summer 2017

          1. I’m part way through the first one but then had an opportunity to hear her speak so of course ended up buying the second one which has just come out. The style is a little bit on the light side for me so far – maybe it gets stronger the further I get into the book

  1. I’m still undecided about taking part too as I’m very good at making lists and very bad at sticking to them.

    I loved A Dance with Dragons and Sandlands – hope you do too – also Northern Lights. I have The White Queen so I’m interested to see what you think about it if you do read it.

    Good luck with the challenge!

    1. Thank you Margaret 😀 Great to hear you have already enjoyed quite a few off my list and I am very much looking forward to reading The White Queen, after loving the BBC TV series. It would be lovely to see you taking part too, but even if you don’t happy summer reading 🙂

    1. Hello Jacquie, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am very much looking forward to reading The White Queen, after loving the BBC TV series. I hope you enjoy the challenge and have some great summer reading!

  2. I’m still considering whether to take part this year, but making lists is such fun! The only one of yours I’ve read is Sandlands, which I thoroughly enjoyed – hope you do too! 😀

    1. FF, I am particularly looking forward to reading Sandlands as I have heard such good things about it from you and others. It would be great to see you take part too, but even if you don’t happy summer reading 🙂

  3. I haven’t decided whether to take part in this yet, but I’m definitely thinking about it! Your list looks great. I enjoyed numbers 2, 3, 7 and 10, so I’ll be interested to read your thoughts on those. I also have a copy of Sandokan which I haven’t read yet.

    1. Helen, it is great to hear you have already enjoyed so many off my list! It would be lovely to see you taking part too, but even if you don’t happy summer reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

