Adaptations: May 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I’ve watched during May:

Goosebumps (2015)
Read     Film     Television

As a kid I was a big fan of the Goosebumps book series by R L Stine, so I was thrilled to finally watch this film. Where we follow Zach as he accidentally opens his reclusive neighbour’s (Jack Black) locked manuscripts unleashing the monsters within! What follows is a funny, jumpy, mad-cap family adventure. Okay this isn’t a ground breaking film, but it is a whole lot of fun!

**


Legion (2017)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

A critically acclaimed new series about Marvel character David Haller/Legion, a powerful mutant diagnosed with schizophrenia as a child, played by Dan Stevens (of Downton Abbey fame!). A visually stunning and refreshing take on the superhero genre, which I enjoyed but it was a bit too trippy for me to love it.

*


I also enjoyed re-watches of historic drama Girl with a Pearl Earring (2003), Marvel’s nostalgic Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) and the awfully good fun Clueless (1995). Altogether that’s five adaptations watched this month.

As for non-adaptations, I was absolutely gripped by the third series of the BBC’s ‘Welsh-noir’, crime drama Hinterland. I also went on an emotional rollercoaster ride watching two outstanding dramas based on real crimes: first, ITV’s heart breaking Little Boy Blue and the second, the BBC’s powerful Three Girls. On a lighter note, I finally watched Rush (2013), about the rivalry between F1 legends James Hunt and Niki Lauda.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

8 thoughts on “Adaptations: May 2017

  1. I saw Rush some time ago; I wasn’t crazy about it. When I read and watched Girl with A Pearl Earring, I wasn’t a fan of either, but then I read Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier and got to appreciate the descriptions of daily life so inherent to her style. I’m due for a reread of GWAPE and maybe a re-watch of the movie to see if I appreciate both further.

    I have watched several adaptations lately: Outlander (Season 2), the miniseries The Night Manager, and Season 1 of The Hollow Crown, which groups Shakespeare’s historical plays on the War of the Roses under one series. I’m also still trying to finish several films that I didn’t watch from last year.

    1. Carmen, I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Rush or Girl with A Pearl Earring. While the later isn’t a favourite of mine, I did love Rush. Are you a fan of F1? I hope you enjoyed The Night Manager more? I thought that was great and I have seen parts of The Hollow Crown, but sadly not watched it all the way through.

        1. I am a big fan of F1, so probably why I enjoyed Rush more, however great to hear you loved The Night Manager and I’ve heard rumours there is more coming 😀

  2. Totally agree about Goosebumps, not groundbreaking but good fun nonetheless. Not seen Legion but I loved Girl with a Pearl Earrning – book and film.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Judy, I recently saw an advert for the film High Rise and while it stars some of my favourites: Tom Hiddleston, Jeremy Irons and Luke Evans…it did look beyond weird, which you’re right is not really my sort of thing 😀

Leave a Reply

