Goodbye May, Hello June 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? May has been a mixed bag of a month. At the beginning, I enjoyed a weekend on the south coast to celebrate my brother’s birthday, but it was followed by miserable late-April showers. While the month ended with a glorious week of sunshine, I managed to cut my finger badly and was left feeling rather sorry for myself! Fortunately my poorly finger couldn’t stop me reading, here is what I read:

Fiction: 4          Non-Fiction: 1

It was a busy time for me at the beginning of May, when I picked up Monstrous Little Voices edited by David Thomas Moore, a wonderful collection of stories with elements of war, romance, magic and deception, which was perfect to squeeze in when I had a moment or two. Then when the weather took a turn for the worst, I indulged in a comforting re-read of Agatha Raisin and the Walkers of Dembley by M C Beaton, the fourth book in Beaton’s long-running, cosy-crime series.

As the sun emerged later in the month, I finally found myself in the mood for the wonderfully atmospheric My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier. It was back in March, I actually started reading this, however I read the majority of it in a matter of days! At the same time, I had on the go the lighter read of Class of ’59 by John A. Heldt, a nostalgic, time travel romance. Which also covered nicely the ‘title with a number in numbers in’ for the What’s in a Name 2017 challenge. My full thoughts on these two books are still to be posted.

Alongside these fictions, I also continued my unintentional US president theme by reading the short non-fiction The Cuban Missile Crisis: A Very Brief History by Mark Black.

Pick of the Month: My Cousin Rachel 

Altogether that is five books read, which is a good amount for me. I have also continued to intermittently listen to Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, and dipped in and out of the memoir Fingers in the Sparkle Jar by Chris Packham. While at the end of the month, I started reading the Italian classic Sandokan, The Tigers of Mompracem by Emilio Salgari and the short story collection Sandlands by Rosy Thornton.

In June, I am looking forward to a trip to the wonderful Butterfly Farm and going to see Puccini’s opera Madam Butterfly; honestly this butterfly theme was not planned! And, of course, I look forward to more reading, in particular for my 10 Books of Summer challenge.

What did you do and read in May? What are your plans for June?

14 thoughts on “Goodbye May, Hello June 2017

  1. What a beautiful view through your window! Five books in a month is really good for me, too, and I’m happy to hear My Cousin Rachel is your pick of the month. I must read it for RIP this year. Happy June!

    1. Aw, thank you – we are very lucky to have a park right opposite our house 🙂 And, I think My Cousin Rachel would be perfect for R.I.P. Happy June to you too!

    1. Yes Lynn, Jamaica Inn was the last du Maurier novel I read before this one, back in 2015. I have now written my full post for My Cousin Rachel and scheduled it for Thursday 🙂

  2. Also looking forward to your thoughts on My Cousin Rachel! And waiting with some trepidation for your verdict on Sandlands. Ooh, the finger cut sounds nasty – hope it’s well on the road to healing. Don’t forget to take regular medicinal chocolate! 🙂

    1. FF, I’ve started my post for My Cousin Rachel and hope to have it finished and posted soon; sometimes though the more you love a book, the harder it is to review it! And thank you, my finger was nasty but it is healing really well now – I must get myself a large prescription of chocolate to help continued healing 😛

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed My Cousin Rachel – it’s one of my favourite du Maurier novels. It sounds as though you have some exciting plans for June!

    1. Thank you Helen, I really enjoyed My Cousin Rachel – it was definitely worth waiting to be in the right mood for! And yes, I have some lovely things to look forward to in June. I hope you have a good June too 🙂

    1. And yes Judy, I have recently only just found out that they’ve made an film adaptation of My Cousin Rachel too! I think Rachel Weisz is a brilliant choice for cousin Rachel 😀

  4. Lovely report. I felt like I was with you during the month. I too look forward to your review of My Cousin Rachel, a book I thought was exceptional. Happy reading in June!

    1. Thank you Judy 🙂 I also thought My Cousin Rachel was exceptional and hopefully I will have my post on it up soon; sometimes though the more you love a book, the harder it is to review it! Happy reading to you too 😀

  5. Five books read in a month is not bad at all. I look forward to your reviews of My Cousin Rachel and Class of ’59.

    I read Sandokan in my early youth and loved it. The butterfly theme, though unintended, sounds lovely.

    1. Thank you Carmen and I should hopefully have my reviews for My Cousin Rachel and Class of ’59 up soon. It is also great to you loved Sandokan – I have really been looking forward to reading it as it sounds just my cup of tea 🙂

Leave a Reply

