Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

10 Books From X Genre That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR List

This topic was made very easy for me because, between February and now, I have had a large influx of historical fiction onto my to-be-read pile. So here are those new additions, in the order I added them to my TBR:

~ 1, 2, 3, 4 ~

The White Queen

The Red Queen

The Lady of the Rivers

The Kingmaker’s Daughter

by Philippa Gregory

Back in February, I was lucky enough to pick up all of the books from Gregory’s Cousins’ Wars series in The Works’ 3 for £5 deal! These are books I have really wanted to read since watching the BBC’s brilliant TV series, The White Queen (2013).

~ 5 ~

The Girl in the Glass Tower by Elizabeth Fremantle

Having previously loved Fremantle’s The Sister of Treasons, I was really pleased to be accepted for a copy of this, a newer novel about Arbella Stuart, via Netgalley in February.

~ 6 ~

The Shadow Queen by Anne O’Brien

Similarly, I have previously enjoyed several of O’Brien’s novels, so I was also pleased to be accepted for a copy of this, a new novel about Joan of Kent, via Netgalley in March.

~ 7, 8 ~

The Mistress of Blackstairs by Catherine Curzon

Dunstan by Conn Iggulden

Also in March, I received copies of Curson’s 18th century mystery and Iggulden’s novel set in Anglo-Saxon England via Netgalley. Both new-to-me authors, although I have heard a lot of good stuff about Iggulden.

~ 9 ~

The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King

In April, I was back in The Works and this time picked up this; one of the newer instalments in King’s Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes series. A series I really must continue with, after reading the first book, The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, last year.

~ 10 ~

By Blood Divided by James Heneage

Then just last month, I received a copy of this via Netgalley. Heneage is a new-to-me author, but I couldn’t resist this epic tale of the clash of the Roman and Ottoman empires.

Are there any genres you have added a lot of to your TBR recently? Also, please link in the comments below if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to My TBR

  1. You have lots of great reading to look forward to there! I have read books 1-6 on your list and enjoyed them all. I’ll be interested to hear more about your other books as well – I have one of James Heneage’s earlier books on my TBR and I also want to continue with the Mary Russell series soon!

    1. Helen, great to hear you enjoyed books 1-6 as you are my fountain of knowledge for historical fiction 🙂 Hopefully we will both get round to one of Heneage’s novels and more of the Mary Russell series soon.

  2. I’ve also heard good thinks about Iggulden – I’ve not read him yet but he seems to have a very good reputation for historical reads. I’ve just picked up his first fantasy novel called Darien – it’s over on NG, sounds really good.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Lynn, I also saw that Netgalley had Iggulden’s new fantasy novel Darien but I resisted the urge to request as I have too many books on there already! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

