New Books: May – June 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, during May and a little into June I added these goodies to my Kindle and bookshelf:

Wendy Darling, Volume 3: Shadow by Colleen Oakes

By Blood Divided by James Heneage

Watling Street by John Higgs

During May, I was lucky enough to receive these three review copies via Netgalley. By Blood Divided and Watling Street were quite whim requests, however I have been waiting (not so patiently) for volume 3 to finish off Oakes’ Wendy Darling trilogy for a while.

Learn to Knit by Fiona Goble

Knitted Home Crafts by DK

At the end of May, I treated myself to these two beginner knitting books, which were going for a song in The Works. My nan taught me the basics of knitting as a child, but sadly I have never taken it much further – I thought these had some nice, simple home projects I could have a go at.

Death of a Gossip by M C Beaton

Death of a Cad by M C Beaton

Then, just sneaking into June, my dad treated me to the first two books in M C Beaton’s Hamish Macbeth series. He’d spotted a book he really wanted in The Works, and we all know you might as well go for the brilliant 3 for £5 deal in there! I really like Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series, so it should be fun to try her other famous crime series.

Do you fancy any of these? What new books have you got recently?

16 thoughts on “New Books: May – June 2017

  1. Enjoy your new haul! I haven’t been shopping recently but have been borrowing more than usual from the library. I think I’ve got enough loans here to last me the summer!

  2. I have stopped going into The Works for that reason! Love it but far too tempting. That said, getting books by an author you already like isn’t so bad in that context.

    Going to have to look up Wendy Darling; the book I got recently was The Essex Serpant. Best of luck with your knitting 😀

    1. Haha Charlie 😛 I don’t feel too bad because I have generally been picking up, in The Works, books and authors I already know. Wendy Darling is a interesting twist on the Peter Pan and Wendy story; I have enjoyed Volume 1 and 2 so looking forward to finishing it off. I hope you enjoy The Essex Serpent, I haven’t read it but it has a gorgeous cover. And. thank you I need all the luck I can get with my knitting, especially as (below) FictionFan pointed out it could be even more difficult with a cat about! 😀

    1. Haha not to worry if you have Nikki-Ann. Obviously I haven’t read the Hamish Macbeth series yet, but I do think Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series is a lot of fun 🙂

  3. I hope you have fun with the knitting books. Knitting used to be my favourite hobby till I got cats, and between them chasing the wool and cat hair getting knitted in to everything I made, I eventually gave up and changed over to cross-stitch! But I still get cravings to knit something once in a while, and sneak the knitting bag out when the cats aren’t looking… 😉

    1. Haha cats really can get into everything and think everything is for them to play with don’t they?! I haven’t knitted around our cat before…we will have to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

