Cookbooks: May – June 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and foodies, here are the new recipes I had a go at during May and the beginning of June (there might have been more if I hadn’t cut my finger badly in May).

I am already a big fan of Jamie Oliver’s hearty, autumnal Happy Frumpy Minestrone. Now the weather is beginning to warm though, I thought it would be good to try the Hairy Bikers’ lighter, more summer friendly alternative:

Minestrone Soup
Hairy Dieters 1 – One-Pan Dishes – Page 35

A lighter version of the classic Italian minestrone soup – full of vegetables: onion, tomatoes, leek, courgette, peas and the ‘super food’ kale. An easy-to-make, healthy and super-satisfying soup. This recipe also makes plenty, so I froze several portions for some yummy work lunches too.
(Actually I enjoyed this so much I have already made it twice)

 ***


Then regardless whether it is hot or cold weather, we love a curry in my house:

Fiery Chicken Madras
Hairy Dieters 2 – More Fab Fakeways – Page 113

A rich, hot curry that is very easy to make, plus it is easier on the bank balance and the waistline too! This is a very simple recipe though, so as well as using chicken instead of beef, I added mushrooms and a lot more onion. I served with plain basmati rice and garlic naan bread; to mop up all that extra spicy sauce.

**


Finally, I regularly have some left over crème fraiche from a family favourite dish, so planning to cook that favourite again it was a perfect opportunity to try something new too:

Beef Stroganoff
Hairy Dieters 2 – Meals with Mates – Page 91

A lower-calorie version of this classic dish, made with half-fat crème fraiche and lots of mushrooms and onions, that makes a smaller amount of good quality steak go further. This was easy to make and absolutely delicious! I served it with basmati rice and some fresh, steamed greens. Definitely be making this again.

***


A smaller amount of recipes tried, but I was pleased with them all. I still have Plant Based Cookbook by Trish Sebben-Krupka to read. Excitingly I also recently got my hands on a copy of Jamie Oliver’s Super Food Family Classics; a copy of which I have wanted since watching the TV show last year.

Do you fancy any of these recipes?

What cookbooks are you reading? Have you tried any new recipes?

8 thoughts on “Cookbooks: May – June 2017

Leave a Reply

