Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

This topic was originally done back in March 2013, long before I began taking part in this meme, so this is a new topic for me. While my list is perhaps not a mile long, there are many series I have been meaning to read for some time but I haven’t got round to, yet! Here are the ten series/trilogies that first came to mind (ordered alphabetically):

~ 1 ~

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

A young adult fantasy series that follows Artemis Fowl II, a criminal mastermind. It sounds right up my street. Sadly no one I know seems to have read it to have recommended or lent it to me.

~ 2 ~

The Cousins’ War by Philippa Gregory

Since watching the BBC’s brilliant adaptation, The White Queen (2013), I have wanted to read this popular historical series, set during the War of the Roses. Fortunately I am hoping to remedy this soon, as back in February I got my hands on five books from the series.

~ 3 ~

The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

For too long, Assassin’s Apprentice, the first book in this fantasy trilogy, has been sitting on my Kindle, forgotten! I think perhaps I need more of the books to give me the push I need to start reading, because otherwise this trilogy sounds exactly my kind of thing.

~ 4 ~

Fortunes of France by Robert Merle

Similarly, The Brethren, the first book in this epic historical series, has been sitting, neglected, on my TBR bookshelf. Sadly, shortly after receiving it, I read two not-so-glowing reviews of it which left me wondering if it was for me. Yet the only real way to find out is to read it!

~ 5 ~

The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

After loving Riordan’s mythological Percy Jackson series, you would have thought it was a dead cert that I would move on to this series. However I tried The Kane Chronicles first, as I adore Ancient Egypt even more than Ancient Greece, but I was left feeling disappointed with its protagonists. And so this series fell by the wayside.

~ 6 ~

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Similarly, after enjoying The Mortal Instruments urban fantasy series, I hoped to move on to this, a fantasy trilogy, from the same author. For some reason though that hasn’t happened yet.

~ 7 ~

Merlin Trilogy by Mary Stewart

With my love of Arthurian legend and this author, I knew when I heard about this trilogy a few years ago that I wanted to read it. Fortunately back in April, I picked all three books up for a bargain on my Kindle, so I hope to start reading them very soon now; no excuse!

~ 8 ~

Miss Marple by Agatha Christie

Generally I need to read more of Christie’s classic, golden age mysteries! The very few I have read have been about her well loved, Belgian detective Hercule Poirot and I know I really must give her equally well loved, detecting spinster Miss Marple a chance too.

~ 9 ~

Peter Grant/Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

This urban fantasy, crime series sounds right up my street, and I have book one, two and five on my TBR bookshelf…so no excuse really. Get reading Jessica!

~ 10 ~

Wolf Hall Trilogy by Hilary Mantel

Finally, but certainly not least we have this award winning historical trilogy, which I have wanted to read since watching the BBC’s amazing adaptation, Wolf Hall (2015). I have the first book on my TBR bookshelf, however I think the sheer length of it might be what’s putting me off starting it.

What series/trilogies have you been meaning to read? Also, please link in the comments below if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning to Read

  1. I intend to start The Farseer Trilogy this summer. As I am reading Mary Stewart books in pub order, I will get to the Merlin trilogy eventually. I second everyone who said the Wolf Hall books are worth the effort. Actually you get drawn in right away. Just keep a little map of all the castles, ha ha, probably easier if you are British and already know the geography. Mantle really raised the bar on historical fiction!

    1. Judy, great to have another commendation for Wolf Hall and I totally sympathise about needing a map, we have so many castles it is very hard to keep track! I hope you enjoy The Farseer Trilogy when you start it this summer – your thoughts on them might spur me on 😀

  2. I have read the first Robin Hobb book but need to continue – it was very good but I think I’m just a bit daunted by the number of books. So many series.
    Lynn 😀

  3. I’ve read the first two in the Wolf Hall series and loved them both, but am seriously tired of waiting for the third one – I’ve kinda lost interest a bit, it’s been so long. And you definitely must read Miss Marple – I reckon she could beat Poirot to the solution any day of the week… 😉

    1. Haha FF, it sounds like it might have been for the best that I haven’t started wolf Hall yet due to the seriously long wait for the final book! As for Miss Marple, I love Poirot so much I am not sure she will live up to him 😛

  4. Merlin Trilogy sounds like one I should explore. Merlin is meant to have a Welsh connection so I really should get to know him better (to date I’ve read about him only in the Sword and the Stone series by T. H White).

  5. I’ve read Rivers of London (Midnight Riot here in the US) and it was a lot of fun. I would like to read more of the series but haven’t yet. I have also read the first 2 Wolf Hall books and they do take some time and concentration, but are well worth it. I can also recommend the first two Merlin books (obviously, I’m good at starting series but not finishing them.) I really want to read some Robin Hobb books thanks to Helen’s recommendation, and the Farseer trilogy seems like a good place to start. Good luck getting started on any of these!

  6. I loved both the Farseer Trilogy and the Merlin Trilogy and I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I did. The first two Wolf Hall books are great too – I can’t wait to read the third one when it’s eventually published. I have read The Brethren and I definitely think it’s worth trying it to see if you like it. I still haven’t got round to continuing with the next book in the series, but I’m sure I will eventually!

    1. Thank you Helen, I am particularly looking forward to reading the Merlin trilogy and Wolf Hall 🙂 But as so many people have mentioned it has been hard waiting for the final book in Mantel’s trilogy maybe its best I have put it off a bit!

  7. I loved the first couple Artemis Fowl but stopped for some reason when I was a kid… I’m in the middle of Farseer right now (if the library would ever let me keep at 36 hour audiobook for longer than 3 weeks).

    I’ve been meaning to start the Raven Cycle by M. Stievader. Any thoughts there?

    1. Hello Sam, thank you for stopping by and commenting; it always lovely to hear from a new face 🙂 I’m afraid I haven’t read the Raven Cycle by M. Stievader either, however I have heard good things about it.

  8. I’ve read most of the Cousin’s War series. I liked The White Queen, Lady of the Rivers, The White Princess, and The King’s Curse. The Red Queen and The Kingmaker’s Daughter weren’t as good (IMO) but still worth a read. I’d be interested to know what you think of Mary Stewart’s series. I’ve read a few of her books but never those. Which is odd because I like Arthurian legends.

    My TTT: https://franlaniado.wordpress.com/2017/06/20/top-ten-tuesday-series-ive-been-meaning-to-start/

    1. Fran, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed most of The Cousins’ War series and thank you for linking in too. Very similar to you, I have also loved other books by Mary Stewart but for some reason not her Merlin Trilogy…even though I love Arthurian legend!

Leave a Reply

