Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read in 2017 (So Far!)

blog-top-ten-tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far

It was suggested that we could break this topic down however we wanted – by genre, strictly 2017 releases, whatever! However I have kept it simple, here are my favourite books I have read, so far, this year (in the order in which I read them):

~ 1 ~

If You Want to Walk on Water You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat by John Ortberg

***

~ 2 ~

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

***

~ 3 ~

My Lady Ludlow by Elizabeth Gaskell

**

~ 4 ~

Seven Stages by Geoffrey Trease

***

~ 5 ~

The People the Fairies Forget by Cheryl Mahoney

***

~ 6 ~

Monstrous Little Voices edited by David Thomas Moore

***

~ 7 ~

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

***

~ 8 ~

Sandlands by Rosy Thornton

***

~ 9 ~

First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson

***

~ 10 ~

Pyramids

Pyramids by Terry Pratchett

***

What are your favourite books of the year so far? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I’ve Read in 2017 (So Far!)

  1. Tempting list! I’d love to reread Tale of Two Cities one day & My Cousin Rachel. You’ve also given me a Gaskell I didn’t know about to look forward to 😊

    1. Brona, My Lady Ludlow is a charming novella in a similar vein to the more famous Cranford. In fact they are often grouped together under the title The Cranford Chronicles (which is what my copy is), although they are not set in the same villages. I hope you will enjoy it and some great re-reads too 🙂

  2. Lots of variety! All lists should include at least one Dickens, and glad to see Sandlands made the cut too. Seven Stages has already made it onto my wishlist on the basis of your review… 🙂

  3. That’s a great list! I loved My Cousin Rachel, Sandlands and A Tale of Two Cities too. I’m interested in reading My Lady Ludlow as I’ve enjoyed everything else I’ve read by Elizabeth Gaskell.

  4. I am going to read A Tale of Two Cities this summer. I just reread your review. I am excited. I loved My Cousin Rachel! I will just mention my first two favorite books read this year: The Nix by Nathan Hill and All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders. Happy reading for the rest of 2017.

    1. Thank you Fran and I have to agree that My Cousin Rachel is my second favourite after Rebecca too…so far anyway as I have many more of du Maurier’s novels to read 😀

Leave a Reply

