New Books: June – July 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, over the past month, I have been rather unintentionally good and find I only have three new acquisitions to share with you:

Super Food Family Classics by Jamie Oliver

Back in June, I was totally over the moon to finally get my hands on a copy of this – the second of Jamie Oliver’s ‘Super Food’ cookbooks – which was going for a bargain price in W H Smith. I have been looking out for affordable copies of these cookbooks since enjoying Oliver’s TV series of the same name.

Queens of Conquest by Alison Weir

Hannah’s Moon by John A. Heldt

Then only last week, I received a copy of Weir’s Queens of Conquest, a history of Medieval queens, via Netgalley and a copy of Heldt’s Hannah’s Moon, the final instalment in his American Journey series, from the author himself. Previously, I have enjoyed books by both of these authors, so I am keen to read more.

Do you fancy any of these? What new books have you got recently?

16 thoughts on “New Books: June – July 2017

  1. The Alison Weir is intriguing, but I’m afraid that’s the kind of book which I gather up and then neglect, thinking it’s going to be so much work (even though it very well isn’t). I recently picked up a copy of a new library book for which I’ve been waiting for months: Kyo Maclear’s Birds Art Life which I’m very eager to read: it’s one of those meditative books which is also about birds and it comes very highly recommended (I’ve also enjoyed her fiction and her children’s book). Enjoy your new reads!

    1. Thank you BIP 🙂 I can understand what you mean about long history non-fictions, like Weir, feeling like too much work, but I tend to just dip in and out of them without worrying about how long it may take me to finish. I hope you enjoy Birds Art Life – it sounds good.

  2. I received Queens of the Conquest from Netgalley too. I’m looking forward to it as I don’t know much about the early queens of England. I hope we both enjoy it!

  3. I got tired of waiting in the library hold line and bought (hardcover) Arudhati Roy’s new novel, The Ministry of Utmost Happiness. And for both me and my husband I bought (hardcover) Neal Stephenson’s new novel, The Rise and Fall of D.O.D.O because we both love him! Quite a splurge. Couldn’t help myself:-)

  4. I’ve been tempted by the Alison Weir but have such a backlog of history books at the moment I decided I should practice restraint for once. I’ll be intrigued to hear what you think of it…

    1. Well done on restraining yourself FF 🙂 While I have a lot of historical fiction on my TBR pile, I realised recently I had no substantial history non-fiction lined up; so this came at just the right time!

  5. I’m getting as much Jane Austen 200th anniversary of her death celebratory books as I can. I need something to sustain me for a while 😀

    1. Aw Geoff that sounds like a great plan 😀 I really enjoyed a recent documentary historian Lucy Worsley did about Jane – I must keep a look out for the accompanying book now.

Leave a Reply

