Adaptations: July 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I have been watching during this month:

Kidnapped (1960)
Read     Film     Television

One weekend, I accidentally came upon this colourful Walt Disney screen adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic adventure being shown on BBC 2. Whilst this hasn’t been as well thought of as Disney’s earlier adaptation of Treasure Island (1950), I thought it was a perfectly adequate, faithful and charming film – good for a lazy Saturday afternoon. Okay watch.


Grimm (Series 5)
Read     TV Series     Television

Finally, I got to catch up with series 5 of this crime drama with a dark, magical twist, whose characters and creatures are based on Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Another fun and twisting series that had danger and new enemies round every corner, but it has kept its great cast of core characters, who have brilliant chemistry. I look forward to catching up with series 6, which sadly I believe is the last! Good watch.


The Monuments Men (2014)
Not Read     Film     Television

Interestingly, this WWII film, loosely based on Robert M. Edsel’s and Bret Witter’s history book, follows not soldiers but instead a passionate band of art lovers – who bravely went to the frontline, risking their own lives, to rescue the hoards of art stolen by the Nazis. A fascinating film, with beautiful moments of humour and sadness, and a great ensemble cast. Great watch.


Mirror Mirror (2012)
Read     Film     Television

At the start of my summer holiday, I found this bright, colourful screen adaptation of the Brothers Grimm’s Snow White being shown on Film4. This is a refreshing take on the classic tale, that sees Snow White (Lily Collins), with the help of seven dwarves, take on the wicked queen (Julia Roberts) and save the prince! A super fun and chilled holiday watch. Good watch.


Altogether that’s four new-to-me adaptations. However, I have also enjoyed comforting re-watches of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005) and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012); both being shown on ITV. Which takes my total up to a grand total of six adaptations watched this month. Plus I still have some great adapted works on the go, including: The Handmaid’s Tale (2017), Vikings (Series 4 – Part 1) and Game of Thrones (Series 7)!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

16 thoughts on “Adaptations: July 2017

  1. Hi, there. I am new to the adaptation term. What do you think about book-to-book adaptation such as graded reader which retelling a novel? Can we call it an adaptation?

    1. Hello Eduardus, I’m afraid I have never heard of a book-to-book adaptation – I thought by its very nature an adaptation meant a story changing mediums i.e. book-to-film. A book which has been edited for a younger audience or to generally make it easier to read is still a book and is usually referred to as an abridgement. I am no expert though, so I hope this helps 🙂

      1. Yes, I am actually confused to explain to my students, because some abridged books or stories mention ‘adapted by’ or ‘adapted from’ which I think that the abridgement could be an adaptation or not. By the way, I really love film adaptation especially for me as English non-native speaker to comprehend and to enjoy about English literature. Thank you very much for your information.

        1. Eduardus, I can totally understand how you would be confused if some of these abridged books are saying ‘adapted by’ or ‘adapted from’. To me it seems the wrong description to use – I would think ‘edited by’ or ‘abridged by’ would be more accurate, but as I said before I am no expert just an adaptation lover. However whether you call them abridgements or adaptations, as long as these books are helping your students that is all that matters really! 😀 I am also glad to hear that you enjoy film adaptations and that they help you to enjoy more English literature 🙂

  2. I read Kidnapped awhile back, but I have yet to see any movie adaptions of it yet. I saw The Monuments Men, but I haven’t read the book. I enjoyed it pretty well. I am sorry to say that I did not like Mirror Mirror overly much, or the Hobbit movie adaptions. Adaptions can be tricky things! Recently though I have seen two adaptions that I found entirely satisfactory. They were A Monster Calls and the new Netflix show of A Series of Unfortunate Events.

    1. Hello Sponge, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy many of the adaptations I did this month 😦 Although I must admit I don’t love The Hobbit adaptations either – I do think they are good fun but the story was stretched too thin and added to too much for me to love them like I do the book. Which is a shame because I adored The Lord of the Rings adaptations as much as the books.

      1. I know, they kind of killed the Hobbit adaptions by stretching the one book into three movies (whose idea was this???). It’s as Bilbo says in The Lord of the Rings: “I feel thin… like butter scraped across too much bread.” Apt, is it not? I love the Lord of the Rings adaptions!

  3. This past month I read both The Man in the High Castle and The Handmaid’s Tale. Now I need to follow up on those adaptations. I saw a great Australian movie the other night, The Dressmaker, which was based on a novel of the same title. And I am very much looking forward to the movie of A Wrinkle in Time, coming out in March!

    1. Judy, I hope you enjoy the adaptation of The Handmaid’s Tale – I only have the finale left to watch now! Sadly I haven’t been able to watch The Man in the High Castle but I would really like too! I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed The Dressmaker and I hope it doesn’t feel a too long wait for A Wrinkle in Time for you 🙂

  4. I enjoyed Mirror Mirror and thought it was a very accomplished take on Snow White. I finally finished watching Season 2 of The Hollow Crown, and have several HBO series in the queue; I already watched Season 4 of the comedy Silicon Valley (not an adaptation but I’ve reviewed the other seasons in my “Snapshots” feature), and yesterday I binge-watched four episodes of The Night Of (adapted to the USA audience from a BBC series). The 2017 movies have been mostly misses for me, not worthed writing about in my opinion.

    1. Wow Carmen, looks like you’ve been doing lots of watching. I must admit to not having heard of The Night Of, so I have just googled it to find it was based on the BBC’s Criminal Justice series – I’ve heard of this but I’m afraid I never watched it. I am sorry to hear you haven’t been enjoying the film releases, so far, this year. Similarly I have been to the cinema less this year, however the few films I have seen have been good. In particular, I loved the comic book adaptations Logan and Wonder Woman and the amazing war drama Hacksaw Ridge. Now I really want to see Dunkirk 😀

  5. I haven’t watched any of your adaptations this time round. But, I have watched all the series of Game of Throne worst thing about that is that I now have to wait a week in between each episode – I’ve sort of got used to watching an hour or two whenever I want *the beauties of being behind!*
    Lynn 😀

    1. Ah Lynn, I am rather jealous that you were able to watch Game of Thrones in a row like that. Usually, I build up a few episodes of a show then watch in a binge sessions, but I can’t resist watching the new episode of GOT as soon as its on! 😀

Leave a Reply

