New Books: August 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, after an almost saintly June and July, I have had a complete blow out in August; acquiring a whopping 15 books! In my defence, I didn’t go out with the intention of buying lots of books, instead it was mainly due to my favourite charity shops having an abundance of books I wanted this month. Here’s what I got:

Sandokan, The Pirates of Malaysia by Emilio Salgari

Cleopatra by Ernle Bradford

Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragorn, The True Queen by Alison Weir

To my Kindle, I have added the quite modest amount of three books. First, I happily accepted a copy of the second Sandokan novel after thoroughly enjoying Sandokan, The Tigers of Mompracem. Then I received a free copy of non-fiction Cleopatra from Endeavour Press and I snapped up a bargain copy of historical fiction Katherine of Aragorn, which was on my Amazon wish list as I already have the next book from the series: Anne Boleyn, A King’s Obsession.

A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George RR Martin

Order of Darkness, Volumes I – III by Philippa Gregory

The first addition to my bookshelves came when my father treated me to copies of these, using his store discount, which are by two authors I am eager to read more from.

Mary Russell’s War by Laurie R. King

Johnny and the Bomb by Terry Pratchett

Next on a trip into town for a podiatrist appointment, I spotted Mary Russell’s War, the newest book in the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series, in The Works – Sadly, or in hindsight fortunately, there weren’t any other books I fancied to complete the 3 for £10 deal! During the same trip, I also snapped up a bargain copy of childhood favourite Johnny and the Bomb in the library sale.

The Game by Laurie R. King

Locked Rooms by Laurie R. King

The Moonspinners by Mary Stewart

Dissolution by C. J. Sansom

Finally, I picked up my largest haul of books on one single day from my two favourite charity book shops, while visiting the local city where I get my hair cut. In the St Giles Bookshop, I discovered two more books from the King’s Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series and as the shop’s deal is 4 books for £5, I obviously had to pick up two more books!

Truckers by Terry Pratchett

Diggers by Terry Pratchett

Sourcery by Terry Pratchett

Crooked House by Agatha Christie

While in the Oxfam bookshop, I found good copies of childhood favourites Truckers and Diggers, and new-to-me Discworld novel Sourcery. Then by chance, I spotted a lovely vintage style copy of one of Christie’s ‘Golden Age’ crime novels. I often find this with charity shops, there is nothing I will want for several months and then loads come along at once!

Do you fancy any of these? What new books have you got recently?

19 thoughts on “New Books: August 2017

  1. Nice book haul! I’m curious about The Moonspinners; I adored Mary Stewart’s Merlin Trilogy as a teenager but haven’t read anything by her since.

    1. Hello Grace, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am pleased to hear you love Stewart’s Merlin Trilogy, as I am really looking forward to reading them. Previously I have read and loved three of Stewart’s suspense novels: Wildfire at Midnight, The Gabriel Hounds and Airs Above the Ground; so I am also looking forward to The Moonspinners too 😀

  2. So many books! I’ve always wondered about reading Martin’s A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms. Maybe I’ll go back to it if he ever finishes the full series.

  3. You got naughty this month with your book spending, but we get it. I do it all the time. 🙂 I’m glad you added another Sandokan to your list. I fancied him when I was a child. I also bought the Katherine of Aragorn novel, but I won’t be reading it for a while.

    1. Well technically Carmen I haven’t been naughty with the money I spent – these were all bargains – it was more the sheer amount of books I acquired so close together!

  4. Ooh, I see Dissolution in there! Is this your first Sansom? The Shardlake books are my favourite historical fiction series of all time, though I haven’t read nearly as many as you, of course. Enjoy your bookhaul – and stay away from the charity shops for a week or two! 😉

    1. FF, this will be my first Sansom novel – I have long wanted to read the Shardlake books! Thank you and I can promise to keep away from those charity shop for a week, as I will be in Rome all of next week 😛

  5. You’re going to be busy reading all of those! I loved The Moonspinners and Dissolution – I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. And I’m hoping to read the first Sandokan book soon, so I’m pleased you liked it enough to want to read another one. 🙂

  6. I love the Truckers trilogy. In another life, when I was a primary teachers I used to read them to my year six classes. The trouble was they made me laugh so much I could barely get through the session without having a fit of the giggles!

Leave a Reply

