Top Ten Tuesday: My Classroom Bookshelf

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. If you love books and making lists, this is the meme for you! This week’s topic is:

Back To School Freebie

Basically, this week we can do anything “back to school” related, so I have chosen to share with you the 10 books that would be on my classroom bookshelf if I were a teacher. As I am actually a teaching assistant already this was a relatively easy topic for me – I have also based my choices on the age group I currently work with (9-11 year olds). In no particular order, here we go:

~ 1 ~

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

A rip-roaring adventure that will take the children to sea in search of treasure, with young Jim Hawkins and the devious Long John Silver.

~ 2 ~

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

Like me as a child, I hope they will travel with little Bilbo on an adventure with dwarves, danger, friendship, treasure, a long-lost home and a dragon!

~ 3 ~

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

An utterly charming classic, where children can join troubled orphan Mary in taking a step through an old, ivy-covered door into a long-forgotten garden.

~ 4 ~

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C S Lewis

Like me as a child, I hope they will step through the wardrobe and be lost in a marvellous adventure in the magical land of Narnia.

~ 5 ~

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J K Rowling

In the first book of this popular series, the children can join Harry Potter for his first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

~ 6 ~

Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling

A delightful collection of stories, which will introduce the children to an exotic mixture of animals and tell how they came to be … just so.

~ 7 ~

Johnny and the Bomb by Terry Pratchett

Like me as a child, I hope they will travel back in time to World War II with Johnny Maxwell in his time-travelling trolley!

~ 8 ~

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl

A wonderfully, fun tale that will take the children on a magical journey inside the chocolate factory of the eccentric chocolatier Willy Wonka.

~ 9 ~

The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

Another charming classic, where the children will meet middle-class siblings Roberta, Phyllis and Peter as they are forced to start a new life in the country.

~ 10 ~

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

An utterly charming novel that will allow the children to follow the ups and downs of the March sisters, as they grow from children into women.

What books would you have on your classroom bookshelf? Also, please link in the comments if you have taken part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic too.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Classroom Bookshelf

  1. The Secret Garden and Little Women are books that I read multiple times growing up. Since I worked in a mostly children’s bookstore as my last job before retiring I became acquainted with so many other great books for middle-grade readers. In America we have an award called the Newbery Award and I have read many great books that won: Adam of the Road, Elizabeth Janet Gray; Johnny Tremain, Esther Forbes; Miss Hickory, Carolyn Sherwin Bailey; The Twenty-One Balloons, Willian Pe’ne du Bois; The Door in the Wall, Marguerite De Angeli; Miracles on Maple Hill, Virginia Sorensen; The Witch of Blackbird Pond, Elizabeth George Speare were some of my favorites.

    1. Wow, Judy that is a good, long list of children’s books for the shelf. Sadly I haven’t read any of them but I have heard of the Newbery Award (because of Cheryl @ Tales of the Marvelous, who has challenged herself to read all of the winners of this award) 🙂

  2. What a lovely Top Ten! I read most of those as a child, although I discovered them for myself or with the help of my parents, rather than through school. I particularly loved 3, 4, 9 and 10. 🙂

    1. Thank you Helen 🙂 It is a little sad that I also discovered most of these out of school via parents mainly too. However, I do have very fond memories Mr Lord (one of my favourite primary school teachers) reading Tom’s Midnight Garden to my class, which nearly made it onto to this list just for those wonderful memories!

  3. As an ex-teacher-cum-school librarian and someone who went on to lecture in Children’s Literature for twenty years I couldn’t possible answer this. Limit myself to ten? No way! However, I applaud your choice of authors. My only caveat is that these shouldn’t just be on the shelf they should also be being read aloud. Nothing inspires children to read and love books more than an enthusiastic teacher making storytime the most important twenty minutes of every day.

    1. Café Society, I totally agree that books should be read a loud to the children. I have wonderful memories of Mr Lord (one of my favourite teachers in primary school) reading Tom’s Midnight Garden to my class 🙂

Leave a Reply

