Adaptations: August 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I have been watching during this month:

The Handmaid’s Tale (2017)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

The new, most-talked about series of 2017, so far, is based on Margaret Atwood’s dystopian modern classic. In a dark near future, fertile women are forced to bear children for the powerful elite in a totalitarian regime, in the former USA. A powerful, gripping and disturbing drama, brought brutally but beautifully to life through the eyes of one of these women, Offred (Elizabeth Moss). Great watch.


The Last Kingdom (Series 2)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

This epic, historical drama, based on Bernard Cornwell’s Saxon novels, returned for its second series earlier this year. We re-join Uhtred (son of a Saxon nobleman, raised by a Viking lord) as he rides north to rescue his sister and reclaim his ancestral lands of Bebbanburg. Again we were treated to stunning cinematography, great acting and gritty realism. Great watch.


Northanger Abbey (1986)
Read     TV Series     Television

One Sunday afternoon, I caught this charming adaptation (originally broadcast on BBC) of Jane Austen’s classic novel being shown on the Drama channel. I thought Katharine Schlesinger and Peter Firth did a lovely job of portraying Catherine and Henry, however the production made a few changes and was a little over theatrical at times. Okay watch.


Vikings (Series 4 – Part 1)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

Another epic, historical drama, inspired by the sagas of Ragnar Lothbrok, the legendary Norse hero and notorious scourge of England and France, that returned for its fourth series earlier this year. Another gripping, bloody and sexy adventure, as the bitter rivalry between Ragnar and his brother Rollo intensifies. I can’t wait for the second part! Great watch.


Altogether that’s four new-to-me adaptations. However, I have also enjoyed comforting re-watches of three more Harry Potter films; the last two Hobbit films and Pride and Prejudice (2005) on the television. That gives me a grand total of ten adaptations watched this month. Plus I still have some great adapted works on the go, including: Midnight, Texas (2017), The Leftovers (Series 3) and Strike (2017).

As for non-adaptations, I went to the cinema to see the amazing WWII drama Dunkirk (2017) and at home, I watched the sumptuous second series of historical drama Versailles. Plus I enjoyed watching Disney’s wonderfully funny animated films Finding Dory (2016) and Moana (2016) with my brother.

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

12 thoughts on “Adaptations: August 2017

  1. Hi Jessica. Catching up on your posts after my local debacle. My only adaptation watched in August was The Glass Castle. I saw it in the theater with my best friend after she bought me a birthday brunch. It was very well done, despite what the reviewers said, and is probably one of the best adaptations of a memoir I have seen.

  2. I have seen several adaptations lately, namely My Cousin Rachel (2017), The Exception, Wakefield, Everything, Everything, Season 7 of Games of Thrones, Ghost in the Shell, the HBO miniseries Big Little Lies, the first season of Rome, War of the Worlds (2005), and The Zookeeper’s Wife.

    Last year I also watched Finding Dory and Moana. I found them adorable.

    1. Carmen, sounds like you’ve had a great month of adaptations too 😀 I also watched series 7 of Game of Thrones, which will feature in my next adaptation post as, due to my holiday, I didn’t watch the finale till this month. As for the other adaptations you watched, I really enjoyed War of the Worlds whilst I really, really want to see My Cousin Rachel!

      I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed Finding Dory and Moana; they really are adorable 🙂

  3. Gosh, I don’t know how you fit it all in! Every time I read your summary post I think I really must watch some of them, but somehow never get around to it. Still haven’t watched Series 1 of The Last Kingdom, and that Northanger Abbey adaptation sounds appealing even if they have messed about with it – I’ve always had a soft spot for Peter Firth…

    1. FF, I am really impressed with how much I have read too, however I still have loads of things recorded! If you have a soft spot for Peter Firth then I definitely think you should give the 1986 adaptation of Northanger Abbey a go – I think Firth does a wonderful job of being a clever, kind and slightly whimsical Henry 🙂

  4. I watched a quarter of the Handmaids tale to series, then read the book in a day, then finished watching the series. I have to say it’s a wonderful and terrifying idea by Margaret Atwood, the show is excellent and the book is even better. Though I must say the way the government is in that world is how I imagine the government in England and the USA etc will become in the next 10-20 years and I find that a terrifying prospect..

    1. Hello Shannon, thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂 Great to hear you also enjoyed The Handmaid’s Tale adaptation, however I find it far too depressing to dwell on the idea that our government could become like this!

Leave a Reply

