Adaptations: September 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms and adaptation lovers, here are the adaptations I have been watching during this month:

Game of Thrones (Series 7)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

The long-anticipated seventh series of this epic fantasy drama, based on George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire books, is the most ambition, so far! With the political intrigue, family rivalry and the bloody fight for the Iron Throne of previous series paling into insignificance now Winter has come and Death is on the march. How can I possible wait a year (maybe longer!) for the final outcome?! Great watch.


The Leftovers (Series 3)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

Earlier this year, this drama with a supernatural twist, based on Tom Perrotta’s novel, returned for its third and final series. As the auspicious 7 year anniversary of the “Sudden Departure” approaches we see how those left behind finally come to terms with it. An interesting end to the series but I think as many new questions were raised as old were answered! Good watch.


Strike: The Cuckoo’s Calling & The Silkworm (2017)
Not Read     TV Series     Television

BBC’s new crime drama, based on the novels of Robert Galbraith aka J K Rowling, we meet private detective Cormoran Strike (Tom Burke) and his capable new assistant Robin (Holliday Grainger) as they tackle two cases. First, the apparent suicide of a young model and second, the disappearance of a controversial writer. I thoroughly enjoyed both these dark, complex mysteries and the brilliant chemistry between Strike and Robin. Great watch.


Altogether that’s four new-to-me adaptations, and with no re-watches, this is my lowest amount in months if not the year; probably because of all the time I have spent away recently. However I have also continued enjoying new series Midnight, Texas (2017) this month too – only the finale to go now!

Have you watched any of these? What have you been watching recently?

12 thoughts on “Adaptations: September 2017

  1. I agree on the latest season of Games of Thrones; it was brilliant! Like you, I’ve watched few adaptations this month. This week, I started re-watching season 4 of Black Sails, the last one, with the intention of reviewing it.

    1. Carmen, pleased to hear you watched and loved the newest series of Game of Thrones too – we can endure long wait for the next series together! Sadly I still haven’t been able to watch the 4th series of Black Sails yet.

  2. Having watched the film of ‘Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy’ and not been overly impressed, I went back and watched the BBC mini series which was so much better although I was surprised how little we saw of the main suspects.

  3. As usual, I’ve watched none, not even the Cormorant Strike ones which I really meant to watch. Oh well, I suppose that just means I’ll have to read the books instead… someday!

  4. i never read any of the Galbraith novels but did enjoy the Cormoran Strike episodes recently broadcast. Much better than the adaptation of her first non J.K Rowling book, The Casual Vacancy which I abandoned after 15 minutes

    1. Karen, I haven’t read any of the Galbraith novels either. I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed the Strike episodes, but sorry to hear you didn’t like The Casual Vacancy.

Leave a Reply

