Goodbye October, Hello November 2017

Hello my fellow bookworms, I hope you are all well? Now we are well into Autumn, my favourite season, I have enjoyed wearing my comfy boots and scarves; drinking copious amounts of hot chocolate and snuggling up with comforting and mysterious books. On top of that, I went with my class on their residential, outdoor school trip and I took part in a Fit Steps class led by the lovely Ian Waite (Strictly and It Takes Two)! However getting back to books, here is what I read:

Fiction: 2          Non-Fiction: 2

Over the best part of the month, I indulged in a comforting re-read of The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman, the second magical book in Pullman’s ever popular trilogy: His Dark Materials. After this I continued my reading for the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril event, as I zipped through Assassination at Bayou Sauvage by D J Donaldson, another deeply engrossing mystery with Andy Broussard and Kit Franklyn in New Orleans.

Alongside these fictions, I also read two non-fictions. First I lost myself in Queens of the Conquest by Alison Weir, a fascinating history of the early Medieval queens. Then on the last day of the month, I finished Plant Based Cookbook by Trish Sebben-Krupka, in which I have sticky noted lots of great looking veggie soup and stew recipes I fancy trying.

Pick of the Month: Assassination at Bayou Sauvage

Altogether that is four books completed in October – an average amount for me but the quality was particularly high. Through out the month, I continued to dip in and out of the classic North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. Also at the end of the month, I find myself a good way into Season of Storms by Susanna Kearsley and I have started Christian non-fiction Crazy Busy by Kevin Deyoung, for the return of my church’s book club next month.

In November, I look forward to celebrating Bonfire Night and my mum’s and stepdad’s birthdays. Oh and hopefully lots more reading too!

What did you do and read in October? What are your plans for November?

8 thoughts on “Goodbye October, Hello November 2017

  1. Have I missed your review of Assassination at Bayou Sauvage or is it still to come? Ooh, Ian Waite! Yummy! Though not as yummy as the ever-lovely Anton… 😉

    1. No FF, you haven’t missed my post on Assassination at Bayou Sauvage – I am hoping to have it up on Saturday. As for the lovely Ian Waite, I am also a big fan of Anton too 😀

  2. Isn’t it exciting to think of a new Philip Pullman book? (Let alone a new trilogy!) My October was mostly filled with reading new books, mostly from various longlists and shortlists for Canadian literary prizes. But that’s been a nice change, as the rest of my reading year has been deliberately and happily backlisted and personal reading projects, so it was nice to be in 2017 for awhile! In November, I plan to tidy up the library stack and gradually return to my backlist reading, but you know what they say about good intentions…

    1. B.I.P I must admit to not knowing about the new book/trilogy when I started out on my re-read, instead it was an almost perfect coincidence! I wish you all the best with tidying up your library stack and getting back to your backlist reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

