New Read: Assassination at Bayou Sauvage

After reading Blood on the Bayou by D. J. Donaldson last year, I was eager to read more from this series. So I was absolutely thrilled when I was offered a copy of Assassination at Bayou Sauvage back in April. (Although this is a series, it is suggested that these books can be enjoyed as stand alones too).

As we moved deeper into Autumn, I felt it was the perfect time to join chief medical examiner, Andy Broussard and criminal psychologist, Dr Kit Franklyn for another mystery in the colourful New Orleans. While Broussard is left reeling from the shocking shooting of his uncle Joe at a family picnic, Kit has to step up to investigate the disappearance of a young woman. Soon what seemed like two clear cut cases is thrown into doubt, as Kit’s first solo efforts soon lead back to the murder of Uncle Joe. Sensing the horrendous magnitude of this case, Broussard has to try to move past his emotions to help his colleagues and friends to uncover the truth before it’s too late!

Again Donaldson immediately drew me in and completely immersed me into this detailed, meticulous and graphic, although I felt it was never gratuitous, mystery. It was also great to reunite with Broussard and Kit, who already seem like old friends to me. Although the narration is still split evenly between these two protagonists, it definitely felt like this was more Kit’s investigation; who is temporarily deputized to help the NOPD cope with a work slow-down. This gives Kit the opportunity to really show what she can do intellectual, physically and mentally, as she is pushed to her limits by not just the case but also by the bullies who support the slow-down.

What I also really loved again was the setting – I have always had a fascination with the Deep South of the USA, especially after watching the first series of HBO’s True Detective, and these books play right into that. In fact, the setting almost becomes another character because it is that good and integral to the story. I thought Donaldson brilliantly brought to life the setting and totally made me feel like I was there: feeling it’s hot, humid weather; eating its delicious food; meeting the colourful, eclectic people; and travelling to the smaller communities out in the crocodile infested wetlands.

Overall, I found Assassination at Bayou Sauvage to be another deeply engrossing, audacious mystery which I loathed to put down and absolutely whipped through. I would definitely like to read more Broussard and Franklyn mysteries. Great read.

Thank you to the publicist for providing a copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Have you read this? Or any other mysteries set in the Deep South?

R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XII – 3/4

10 thoughts on “New Read: Assassination at Bayou Sauvage

  1. Sounds great and I also like the idea of this being set in the deep south – it does change the dynamic somehow lending it an air of something mysterious – can’t quite put my finger on it. Glad that you enjoyed it so much.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Judy, these are the only books I have read set in New Orleans however they have certainly wetted my appetite for more! I have not heard of The River Road before – I bet it was really interesting to read about the history of this fascinating city though.

  2. I’ve never read any of this series, but it does sound interesting. It’s good to hear that the author was so successful at bringing the setting to life!

  3. New Orleans always has come up in my reading as another character no matter the writer or the genre. The setting, its people and customs lend well for intriguing mysteries like this one.

  4. I haven’t read any of these novels but I’m interested in what you say about New Orleans becoming a character. I remember hearing the man behind the television series NCIS New Orleans saying that far more so than in the other two versions of the franchise he wanted the city to be one of the characters. I don’t know if you know the series but I think he has managed it.

    1. Café Society, I have heard of the NCIS TV franchise but I haven’t really watched it. I didn’t know there was one set in New Orleans though – if I was to watch one it would probably have to be that one just for the setting.

Leave a Reply

