Nonfiction November: Book Pairing

This is my first year taking part in Nonfiction November, a yearly event that encourages bloggers to read and discuss non-fiction. This year hosted by JulzReads, Sarah’s Book Shelves, Sophisticated Dorkiness, Doing Dewey, and The Emerald City Book Review. Sadly I missed Week 1’s topic but fortunately I was in time for Week 2 (Nov. 6 to 10) at Sarah’s Book Shelves.

Book Pairing: This week, pair up a nonfiction book with a fiction title. It can be a “If you loved this book, read this!” or just two titles that you think would go well together. Maybe it’s a historical novel and you’d like to get the real history by reading a nonfiction version of the story’

Since reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and the rest of The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis as a child, I have been in love with the magical world of Narnia. Clearly this love must show, in more than just my blog title, because friends from church saw non-fiction The Lion’s World by Rowan Williams and felt they just had to buy me a copy. In The Lion’s World, Williams explores the moral landscape of all seven novels in the chronicles and explains their spiritual subtext. For me, as a Christian, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and The Lion’s World were a fiction and non-fiction which complimented each other perfectly.

What fiction and non-fiction would you pair together? Please link in the comments below if you have done your own post for this.

12 thoughts on “Nonfiction November: Book Pairing

  1. That does sound interesting! I shall look out for it – one day I’d like to do a proper adult re-read of all the Narnia books and it would be an excellent companion. This year I suppose I’d be matching Russian stuff – maybe A People’s Tragedy, Orlando Figes’ history of the revolution, with Dr Zhivago.

    1. FF, I highly recommend an adult read of The Chronicles of Narnia and I hope The Lion’s World will make a good companion read for you too! While I don’t know much about Russian literature, a history of revolution sounds like a pairing for Dr Zhivago. 🙂

  2. Well – I did read Daphne DuMaurier’s life story- I can’t recall if it was a biography or autobiography but I can still recall the cover – I could couple that with Rebecca, or my Cousin Rachel or Jamaica Inn.
    Lynn 😀

  3. There are a lot of interesting books exploring Lewis and the Narnia books. I also recommend The Magician’s Book by Laura Miller for a very different (non-christian) perspective.

    On another note, I wonder if you missed my email saying you won the Witch Week giveaway (ebook version). Please contact me at lory /at/ emeraldcitybookreview /dot/ com with your email address and preferred ebook format — otherwise I have to choose another winner. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

