πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 20th June 2021: Interview, Love & Archaeology πŸ‘©β€πŸ«β€πŸ›

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all, and a happy Father’s Day, too! I hope this post finds you all well. A mixed week of weather has passed and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been doing, reading and watching over that time.

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Life πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

I started my week with my interview at a lovely, local SEN school (like my own), which went really well and while I didn’t get the permanent position I applied for, they did offer me a cover role. Not exactly what I wanted of course, but it is a nice back-up to have if I don’t get one of the fixed-term positions at my current school. Thank you for all your love and kind wishes. I continue to pray that everything will turn out for the best! πŸ™

The rest of the week was a good one at work and I got back on track with my healthy food plan, which included making a big batch of my favourite Tomato & Tarragon Soup (Quick Cooking by Mary Berry) and a tweaked remake of Salmon Fish Cakes (Co-op Food Magazine)πŸ˜‹. Over the past couple of weeks, I have also been doing a daily 10 mins of Sarah Beth Yoga videos on YouTube, that I have found very helpful for my fitness and anxiety. πŸ§˜β€β™€οΈ

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Books πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

With my job uncertainty still causing me some fatigue and anxiety, my reading has sadly stayed pretty low in the last week. However I did finally get properly stuck into the Christian non-fiction The Four Loves by the celebrated C.S. Lewis, taking comfort in Lewis’ exploration of the nature of love from a Christian perspective. ❀

I have also been dipping in and out of the swashbuckling revenge, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas βš” and I finished my HolyΒ Bible readings from the intimidating book of Revelation, for The Bible Course I was taking part in, earlier this year. Both of which are part of my 10 Books of Summer 2021 reading challenge. β˜€

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ TV & Films πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

On the other hand my viewing has stayed high, as I have taken comfort in easy re-watches. I finished re-watching series 2 of the BBC’s fun, fantasy-adventure, Merlin (2008-2012), which is loosely based on the Arthurian legends and is currently available on Netflix πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ and I re-visited some of the older episodes of the British archaeological series Time Team (1994-2014) πŸ›.

I also really enjoyed re-watches of Star Trek V: The Final Frontier (1989), I feel an unfairly overlooked instalment in the franchise, and Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country (1991), a firm favourite with a great murder mystery and Shakespeare quoting Klingons! Revisiting the original, hopeful Utopian vision of Star Trek has been just what I needed. πŸ––

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ Blog πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Finally, here on the blog was quiet due to my continued, albeit milder, fatigue and anxiety; however thankfully, last weekend, I was able to schedule my participation in the weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday | Books On My Summer TBR 2021 and my review of the history/faith memoir The Red-Haired Archaeologist Digs Israel by Amanda Hope Haley. I swear I didn’t plan an archaeological theme to this week’s post! πŸ˜‰


For now, that’s all folks! Today, I am looking forward to attending an in-person Holy Communion service at my church and lunch at my granddad’s. I hope to catch up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! πŸ‘‹

(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post)

Now in the comments let me know: How you are? What you have been reading and watching? Or please leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

31 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 20th June 2021: Interview, Love & Archaeology πŸ‘©β€πŸ«β€πŸ›

    1. Thank you so much for your prayers, Amy ❀ It is also lovely to hear your daughter loved The Count of Monte Cristo and I hope your son will, too. 😊

  1. I hope you’re offered a fixed-term position at your school! Looking for work can be so stressful.

    I own The Count of Monte Cristo years ago but I’ve never gotten brave enough to actually start reading it.

    Enjoy your week!

    1. Thank you so much, Jen ❀ and I hope you one day you will be brave enough to pick up the intimidating Count of Monte Cristo… hopefully my journey through it will help you! 🀞

  2. I can completely understand why you feel so stressed and anxious. Work is such a big part of our lives that any uncertainty is terrible, plus you love your school. Well done being offered the cover role though, it’s good to have a back up.
    Lynn πŸ˜€

  3. I’m keeping my fingerscrossed for you and hope you’ll have more certainty soon.
    Have a good week and happy reading.

  4. So sorry to hear of the uncertainty over your job – that is always draining. And I’m also aware that teachers have had a HARD time of it over the last year – so there must also be the stacked fatigue and stress of what you went through during the height of the pandemic, Jessica. Glad to hear you are being kind and mindful of yourself and I very much hope the situation eases soon with just the right position popping up. Take care.

    1. Haha thank you, Greg this is my cats new favourite trick now the weather has warmed up… why walk all the way to the cat flap when you can moan at β€˜little hooman’s’ window till she opens it for you! 😸 And great to hear Star Trek VI is another favourite of yours! 😊

  5. I so hope your job situation settles down and you get something you want. Star Trek movies are excellent re-watches. I can’t see them enough times. Hope you have a great week!

    1. Thank you so much, Yvonne and I had forgotten how great the original Star Trek films were – I won’t leave it this long again for a re-watch! 😊

  6. So glad there was some bright spots in your week πŸ€—. My mom used to make fish cakes (I don’t remember which fish she used though), and they were really good. I haven’t thought about them in ages. I’m going to have to explore some fish cake recipes this week. ❀️

    1. Thank you, Tessa 😊 For quick and easy fishcakes, I would usually use tinned tuna or mackerel – I hope you find a recipe to help recreate the fish cakes your mum used to make. πŸ˜‹

  7. Love the photo of your kitty peeking in the window! Good to know you have a back-up plan for work, but still praying it works out with a full-time position.

    I just finished reading a powerful memoir by Holocaust survivor, Dr. Edith Eva Eger. The title is “The Choice”.

    1. Thank you, Kelly and this is my cats new favourite trick now the weather has warmed up… why walk all the way to the cat flap when you can moan at ‘little hooman’s’ window! 😸 I hope you enjoyed… well enjoyed as much as you can a Holocaust read… The Choice by Dr. Edith Eva Eger, it does sound an interesting and important read.

  8. Hoping that the stress and anxiety will diminish and good things will come your way. Kudos on the healthy food.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. It’s amazing how work stress and anxiety can affect reading and blogging. I find myself in the exact same position. Work has been completely overwhelming this term and I am looking forward to the holidays.

    Trust and rest in the Lord. He will bring you to the right position for you. Thoughts and prayers!

    Elza Reads

    1. I am sorry to hear work has been overwhelming for you, too! Thank you for your thoughts and prayers – mine will be with you as well and it is not long till the holidays now! πŸ™πŸ˜Š

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.