What I Watched In March 2020

Hello my fellow goggle-boxes, I hope you are all well. Here’s all the goodies I managed to watch over the month of March, when the ‘pandemic-that-shall-not-be-named’ arrived to our shore meaning we had to start practising social distancing, making a lot more time for watching telly:

Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and Vile (2019) ** – First, one Friday takeaway night, we watched this crime film, in which Zac Efron controversial plays the charismatic serial killer Ted Bundy, as his terrible crimes are revealed from the perspective of his longtime girlfriend, Liz Kendall; based on her memoir, The Phantom Prince: My Life with Ted Bundy. A creepily gripping watch that had me repulsed and fascinated in equal measure – Hats off to Efron he played Bundy scarily good!

True Blood (S2) ** – Then, I finished season two of this supernatural drama, based on Charlaine Harris’ The Southern Vampire Mysteries, which continues to follow the misadventures of Sookie Stackhouse. Now, with her two competing vampire suitors, she has to take on the anti-vampire Fellowship of the Sun church and save Bon Temp from spiralling into chaos. Still a little too much sex for my taste, but still good vampire fun, and let’s face it, what troubling times are not made better by sexy-ass vampires?! 😉

Locke & Key (S1) ** – Next, I finished this new, supernatural horror series, on Netflix, based on the comics by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez. Following their father’s shocking murder, three siblings and their mother move across country to the old family Key House, that turns out to be filled with reality-bending, magical keys. A fun, teenage drama with a dark twist, that had me both laughing-out-loud and slightly wanting to hide behind my pillow. Really hoping for another season.

How To Train Your Dragon (2010) *** – Finally, to cheer myself up during self-isolation at home, I watched this computer-animated film, based on the 2003 book of the same name by Cressida Cowell. Young Hiccup, a Viking, expected to fight and kill dragons, goes and does the exact opposite by befriending a deadly Night Fury dragon, he names Toothless. A brilliant family adventure, full of laughs, and made even better by the fact Toothless reminded me of my cat. 😺


Altogether that is four new-to-me adaptations watched in March. I also started watching True Blood (S3), but with no re-watches during the month my grand total stays at four.

As for non-adaptations, I finished watching the BBC’s Back in Time Corner Shop, a great nostalgic watch; and the retro, supernatural horror, Stranger Things 2 & 3, where I enjoyed some more monster mayhem. I have also enjoyed a couple of nights at the movies, obviously from the comfort of my own sofa though, where I watched the bloody, revisionist Western, Django Unchained (2012); the fun, animated fantasy adventure, Coco (2017); and the biographical musical, Rocketman (2019).

Now over to you: Have you watched any of these? Fancy any of these? What have you been watching recently?

7 thoughts on “What I Watched In March 2020

  1. You’ve watched lots. Extremely Wicked…is on my Netflix queue. I loved Django Unchained, Coco, and Rocketman. You have made curious about True Blood, and Locke and Key, which I realized the other day was on Netflix. I watched lots too. On TV I watched The Outsider, Mrs. Fletcher, The New Pope, Instant Hotels (S2), and The Woman in White. I saw a total of 17 movies last month, several of which were adaptations. The standouts were Knives Out (2019) and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark (2019).

    1. Thank you, Carmen and that means a lot coming from someone who watches so much! 😊 I haven’t seen anything you’ve watched this time, but great to hear you also loved Django Unchained. I hope you enjoy Extremely Wicked when you have chance to watch it and do check out True Blood and Locke & Key: both are good, fun watches. Happy viewing! 🙂

  2. I’ve seen True Blood—don’t really have a desire to read the books. (I did like the show.)

    Locke & Key is on our list, but decided to start watching The Witcher first, which we did a couple of nights ago. We only had time for the first episode that night.

    Just finished watching The Magicians, and I’m so sad it’s over.

    1. Hey Heather, thank you for stopping by and commenting. 😊 Like you, I am just enjoying watching the show of True Blood, while I did read the first book I am not sure I will read anymore. For some reason I found the sex worse to read about than what’s shown in the show!

      I hope you are enjoying The Witcher (that is on my to-be-watched list) and that you will enjoy Locke & Key when you have a chance to watch it, but I don’t know anything about The Magicians so I will have to check that out. Happy viewing! 🙂

    1. Cathy, great to hear you loved Coco and True Blood – I had heard that the latter does lose its way a little the further it goes on, but as you said it is the best fun! 😁

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.