πŸ“– Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (1909) β­β­β­

Anne of Avonlea #1Hello my fellow bookworms, today I am bringing you my thoughts on the children’s classic novel, Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery, which is the second book, published in 1909, about the feisty and spirited Anne Shirley, who we first meet in Anne of Green Gables (review). Having loved the first book last year, I couldn’t wait to read more.

This new tale opens on a sixteen-year-old Anne, who is all grown up… well almost! There is still that shine in her grey eyes, that peppery temper to match her fiery hair, and that wild, vivid imagination. In the years since she arrived at Green Gables as a skinny, freckle-faced orphan in her ill-fitting wincey dress, she has earned the love of the people of Avonlea and us the readers, even though or perhaps a little bit because she also has rather a reputation for getting into amusing scrapes. πŸ‘©β€πŸ¦°

Now we get to she her starting her first job as the new teacher at Avonlea school house and so begins the real test of her character. As along with teaching the three Rs, we see her learning how complicated life can be when you meddle in other people’s romance; helping to raise two new orphans, Dora and Davy, at Green Gables; and wondering at the strange, coy behaviour of her former childhood arch-nemesis, turned study partner and fellow teacher, Gilbert Blythe.

Anne of Avonlea #2

Even with all that new responsibility and maturity, never fear, Anne still manages to have some magical adventures and get into a fair few amusing scrapes as well! From unexpectedly discovering an enchanting garden and house with an equally whimsical owner; to accidentally rubbing red dye on her nose before meeting a famous author; and finally, getting herself stuck in a duck house roof while peeping into a pantry window! πŸ˜…

Really, only Anne could manage such things, but it only makes us love her more! And as it was delightful to see her grow as a child in the first book, it was equally delightful to see her enter womanhood in this second book. All of which was again charmingly chronicled by Montgomery in her light, easy, and beautiful writing style.

I couldn’t end this post without also mentioning the other main character of this book series, which is the setting of Prince Edward Island! Anne and the other inhabitants live quiet, steady lives based on the farming calendar and the changing seasons, which as a modern reader in our crazy, busy times, I found a very welcome break to read about. Montgomery is also able to share the beauty of the flowers, trees, streams and woodlands through the eyes of the wild, adventurous Anne. 🌸

Simply put, I thought Anne of Avonlea was an utterly charming coming-of-age tale, that manages to touch the heart and the funny bone! I read this as I was bundled up at home, with my second bout of Covid-19, and it was just what I needed to escape into. A… Great read ⭐⭐⭐

The Classics Club(I also read this off my list for The Classics Club)

Have you read this? Or any of the other Anne Shirley books? Please let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “πŸ“– Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (1909) β­β­β­

  1. So glad you’re enjoying the Anne books – she is still my role model after all these years! The next few books are just as lovely – hope you get to them soon, but hopefully don’t get Covid every time you read one! πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you’re dealing with your second bout of COVID. I’ve only read Anne of Green Gables. I did love it and I’d love to continue the series at some point. I’m glad you enjoyed this one as much as you did. I hope you get better soon.

    1. Aw never fear Jenni Elyse I was reading this, during my second bout of Covid, back in February! I hope you will have chance to read more from this charming series.

  3. I have read and re-read all the Anne books numerous times and never tire of them – they are my ‘comfort reading’ I loved most of them – wasn’t quite so taken with the Chronicles and Further Chonicles of Avonlea as the rest of them – but they are definitely one of my all-time favourite series. (The first Anne of Green Gables film with Megan Fellows as Anne – is great – I used to watch it once a year and still felt a lump in my throat every time at a certain point – but don’t be tempted by the sequel (not so good) – and especially avoid film no 3 – it is truly dreadful!!)

    1. Aw thank you for the film recommendation, Margaret and it is also wonderful to hear you continue to enjoy re-reading this charming book series. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.