πŸ“š What I Have Been Reading This Month: December 2022 (#WWWWednesday)

Reading December 2022Good day, my friends and fellow bookworms, we are halfway through the week again and we are a few days into a new year, so today I am going to be sharing with you what I have reading through the month of December for WWW Wednesday; a great weekly reading meme, hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Now grab a big steaming cup of tea, cocoa or coffee, settle down, get comfy and let’s chat books!

~ Currently Reading ~

πŸ“— Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling (Illustrated Edition 2016) – Over the weekend, I picked up my beautifully illustrated edition of this children’s fantasy novel, which I received for Christmas, to enjoy a comforting re-read of Harry’s second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry; with his friends, lessons, enemies, a diary, a monster and Dobby the house-elf!

πŸ“— Fixated: Advent Meditations from the Book of Hebrews by Tim Chester (2020) – At the end of November, I was very blessed to pick up my free copy of this daily devotional, that my church had ordered in bulk for all of the church family to read in preparation for Christmas. Sadly, I was not able to read this everyday of Advent as I had hoped, however what I have read has really inspired and comforted me, so I think I am going to continue reading even though Advent has gone.

~ Recently Finished ~

πŸ“•The Pursuit of God: The Human Thirst for the Divine by A.W. Tozer (1948) – Mid-month, I finished this modern Christian classic, which was our last reading choice for my church’s book club. I found it very helpful to read this simple and practical study into the human hearts thirsting after God and the riches of his His grace when we live in sync with Him. Unfortunately, I was too unwell to attend the club’s meeting to discuss this book, but I hope to type up my full thoughts on this for you soon. ⭐⭐

πŸ“• The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King (2009) – Then just last week, I finished this nostalgic-mystery, the 9th book from the long-running Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series, which sees this married sleuthing duo embroiled in a desperate search for a missing mother and child, with a very personal connection. I very much enjoyed this thrilling mystery full of secrets, disguises and many twists and turns; with the added interests of art, new-age religion and ancient Neolithic monuments. ⭐⭐

~ Reading Next ~

If I am honest, I am really not at all sure what I will read next! However I am still definitely in the mood for something comforting, so my next read will probably either be the next book in a much-loved series or a new book from a much-loved author of mine.


Now I’d love to hear from you, what have you been reading? Or please feel free to share a link for your own WWW post. And I hope to see you again next week for some more bookish chat! πŸ‘‹

7 thoughts on “πŸ“š What I Have Been Reading This Month: December 2022 (#WWWWednesday)

  1. I really need to add the Tozer book to my TBR.

    I just finished re-reading Out of the Silent Planet by C. S. Lewis and I’m now reading a non-fiction book about cells and medicine. Up next all depends on whether a hold I have at the library becomes available.

    Comfort reads are always good, especially at this time of year!

  2. Those books all sound like comforting reads, which is just what you need sometimes. I hope you enjoy whatever you decide to read next.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.