WWW Wednesday | 30th October 2019

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is ‘Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: The mystery-thriller The Virgin of the Wind Rose by Glen Craney, which has a dual-narrative plot, separated by half a millennium, that both revolve around an uncracked Templar cryptogram. It says this is for lovers of Dan Brown, well I love Brown’s cryptic thrillers but I haven’t read enough of this yet to make a fair comparison yet. It has started well though.

Instead my main reading focus, now I have got really into it, is the riveting The Golden Antilles by Tim Severin. A fascinating history into the dangerous obsession of searching for the fabled city-of-gold, El Dorado, which I am finding is as descriptive and flows as well as any historical adventure!


Recently Finished: The fourth Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes mystery, The Moor by Laurie R. King, which with recent weather here in the UK appropriately took me to wet, foggy Dartmoor for another mysterious conundrum with this married sleuthing team. As they investigated a suspicious death and sightings of the ghostly Lady Howard’s carriage and the infamous, diabolical hound from Holmes’ earlier, probably best-known case of the Baskervilles. A good, nostalgic mystery read.


Reading Next: Probably the science-fiction, thriller Cold Fire by Dean Koontz, which would have been great for the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XIV reading challenge, but I won’t get to this in time for that now. However Cold Fire could still tick off another category for my What’s in a Name 2019 challenge. Also with the start of Nonfiction November 2019, I will be hoping to read Margaret Tudor by Melanie Clegg and/or The Favourite by Ophelia Field soon too.


So that’s what I’ve been reading recently – Come back next week to see what I read next. Bye for now!

Now over to you: Have you read any of these? What have you been reading?

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 30th October 2019

  1. my last read was The Absinthe Earl – which turned out to be something of a bodice ripper! My next read is Into the Deep which is about Sirens and I’m excited to pick it up.
    Lynn 😀

  2. Today I finished The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett! I feel like I have been whining about it on all blogs across the universe because It took me so long to get going with it. I ended up loving it, admiring it, and intend to read the whole Lymond Chronicles series. Now I have started The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead for a reading group which is coming right up! I hope I get it done in time. The Golden Antilles sounds quite interesting. I await your review.

    1. Well done on completing the mammoth Game of Kings, Judy and I am so pleased that you ended up loving it, especially as you struggled at the start. I suppose that means I need to read one day too! As for The Golden Antilles, I am making very good progress with it, won’t be long till I finish it, so you hopefully won’t be waiting long for my full thoughts on it. Happy reading! 🙂

  3. I’m still intrigued by your current book. I’ve only read one Dan Brown, but thoroughly enjoyed it. I finished my 800+ page book earlier in the week and am now reading Cloudy Jewel by Grace Livingston Hill (written in the 1920s). I’ve also started another Rachel Held Evans book that a friend loaned me. 🙂

    1. Kelly, I hope to be able to give you more to go on with my current read soon. Which Dan Brown book did you read? Well done on completing that hefty tome and I look forward to hearing more about the Rachel Held Evans book you’re reading. 🙂

      1. I read The Da Vinci Code. I liked the book much better than the movie. Tom Hanks had horrible hair in the film!! 😂

        1. Kelly, I like The Da Vinci Code book and film equally – In my opinion Tom Hanks can do no wrong, bad hair or not. 😉 If you want to read more, my favorites have been Angels & Demons and Inferno (although the film of the latter was ruined by them changing the ending!).

  4. Last week I finished The Dutch House by Ann Patchett, which I liked a great deal. I’m currently reading Things in Jars by Jess Kidd–ARC of a February 2020 release, very suitable for the R.I.P. Challenge, reason why I’m reading it now. Next I’m planning to read either Africaville (December ARC), or The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern (TB released on Nov 5) followed by Africaville.

    1. Carmen, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed The Dutch House by Ann Patchett so much and I hope you are now enjoying your season appropriate read of Things in Jars by Jess Kidd. Happy reading. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.