Top Ten Tuesday | 5th November 2019

Hello fellow bookworms. We have reached Tuesday and that can only mean one thing: it is time for Top Ten Tuesday! A weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, who each week assigns a new topic to inspires us to create a top ten list based on it. This week’s topic is:

Books That Give Off Autumn Vibes (Autumn scenes/colours on the cover, autumn atmosphere, etc.)

As I have been talking a lot about the suitably atmospheric reading I have been doing this season for R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XIV, I thought I would share with you book covers that have the beautiful, autumnal colours of gold, red, orange, yellow and brown on them.

1. Witch Child by Celia Rees – A young adult book about teenage Mary Newbury, who escapes England only to face persecution as a witch in a Puritan settlement in the ‘New World’.

2. Sorceress by Celia Rees – Sequel to the Witch Child, where a young woman called Agnes begins having visions of Mary Newbury, who lived over 400 years earlier.

3. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye – The bestselling, dark twist on Jane Eyre, with a beautiful, lush setting; a colourful cast of characters and a gripping mystery.

4. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King – Though this first Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes book starts on a summer day, that burnished orange on the edge of the cover and the mystery screams autumn.

5. The Cranford Chronicles by Elizabeth Gaskell – A delightfully comforting collection of Gaskell’s novellas: Mr. Harrison’s Confessions, Cranford and My Lady Ludlow.

6. Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James – A British fan fiction novel in which James continues Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice with a murder mystery.

7. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien – Classic children’s fantasy novel, that sees little Bilbo Baggins going off on an adventure to retrieve the dwarves’ home from a cunning dragon.

8. Village School by Miss Read – A delightful collection of forty charming stories about a small, rural school, based on Read’s time as a village school teacher in the 1930/40s.

9. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman – The final instalment in Pullman’s children’s fantasy trilogy, His Dark Materials, which sees Lyra and Will’s multi-world adventure comes to an end.

10. Just So Stories by Rudyard Kipling – A classic collection of short, origin and morals stories for children.

Now over to you: Do you like my autumnal book cover choices? What autumnal books covers can you think of?

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday | 5th November 2019

  1. Loved the Rees books and Cranford, though I’ve only read the one story so far. I’m wondering about the cover of The Essex Serpent – it’s dark green but otherwise looks good in that way.

  2. I love that you have such a varied selection of books! I didn’t think of The Hobbit but that is a fantastic autumn pick.

    1. Rain City Reads, thank you for stopping by and commenting. 🙂 I am very pleased to hear you like my varied selection of book, particularly the fantastic The Hobbit. 😀

  3. Very nice! I have read Death Comes to Pemberley and The Amber Spyglass, loved the second unconditionally.

  4. I haven’t seen the new cover of Jane Steel. It’s so fallish! Love it! This book is waiting on my shelf. I hope I can get to it soon!

    1. Dedra, this isn’t the new cover for Jane Steele, as this copy was a review copy for when the book was first published, so it must be the old cover. I really hope you enjoy it when you have chance to read it. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.