Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2020

Hello fellow bookworms, it is a new year and a new decade, and I thought time for a new reading challenge. I have long followed fellow blogger, Helen taking part in the Historical Fiction Reading Challenge, hosted by Amy at Passages to the Past, and always thought that looks like fun. So, finally, I am going to give it a go, too.

Here are the details of the challenge:

  • The challenge runs from January 1st to December 31st, 2020.
  • Each month, a new post dedicated to the HF Challenge will be created.
  • Everyone can participate! If you don’t have a blog you can post a link to your review if it’s posted on Goodreads, Facebook, or Amazon, or you can add your book title and thoughts in the comment section if you wish.
  • Add the link(s) of your review(s) including your name and book title to the Mister Linky we’ll be adding to our monthly post (please use the direct URL that will guide us directly to your review)
  • Any sub-genre of historical fiction is accepted (Historical Romance, Historical Mystery, Historical Fantasy, Young Adult, History/Non-Fiction, etc.)

Also there are the following different reading levels to choose from:

  • 20th Century Reader – 2 books
  • Victorian Reader – 5 books
  • Renaissance Reader – 10 books
  • Medieval – 15 books
  • Ancient History – 25 books
  • Prehistoric – 50+ books

I will be aiming for the Renaissance Reader level, as I think ten books is a fair amount to aim for, considering I read eight historical-fictions last year. In fact, historical-fiction was my joint highest-read genre for the last couple of years. So really this isn’t so much about the ‘challenge’, but instead more about linking into the monthly challenge posts, seeing what others are reading and discovering new novels and bloggers.

Now over to you: Are you taking part in this challenge too? What historical-fictions are you looking forward to reading this year?

25 thoughts on “Historical Fiction Reading Challenge 2020

    1. Hello Jerry, I’m afraid I don’t know – This is my first year taking part in this challenge and I have just shared in this post what the organisers shared in their sign-up post. I suggest you contact them for more information.

  1. Ooh! Historical Fiction! I love that genre. Looking forward to reading some of your reviews and recommendations. Sometimes it’s hard to find good HF novels because of historical inaccuracies and anachronisms… but there’s so many good ones out there, too! Looking forward to seeing which ones you read this year! Have you read The Bronze Bow?

    1. Emily, I am really looking forward to what I will read for this challenge, as historical-fiction is one of my favourite genres along with fantasy. I hope I am able to share with you some books you will want to read. I haven’t read The Bronze Bow but the title sounds familiar.

  2. I’m glad you’re joining in this year too, Jessica. I’m sure you’ll be able to reach the Renaissance Reader level. Have fun! 🙂

  3. This is a new-to-me challenge and it looks fun! Renaissance level sounds reasonable and, who knows… you may bump up to Medieval before the year is done! Enjoy!

    1. Thank you, Kelly 🙂 I think Renaissance is a reasonable level, especially as I read eight historical-fiction in 2019, so not a huge leap up to push myself to ten books. But yes, if I read more, even better! 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.