WWW Wednesday | 15th January 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is ‘Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: The science-fiction, thriller Cold Fire by best-selling author, Dean Koontz. His 1991 novel that follows teacher, Jim Ironheart, an ordinary man who has saved twelve lives in three months, which peeks the interest of reporter, Holly Thorne. I am a fair way into this now, and it is dark and gripping. So much so, I am only reading it in the daylight 😉 and instead choosing to read lighter books before bed!

I have also continued to dip in and out of the Christian non-fiction, No God But One: Allah or Jesus? by Nabeel Qureshi, in which, Muslim to Christian convert, Qureshi continues to explore the origins, similarities, differences and authenticity of these two faiths; a follow up book to his brilliant, bestselling Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus. So far it is proving to be very interesting and thought-provoking read.


Recently Finished: My new cookbook, Quick Cooking by Mary Berry, which my stepdad won for me through the Postcode Lottery. I enjoyed the accompanying TV show on the BBC and then my mum highly recommended the cookbook, as she already got herself a copy last year. This had a great collection of quick and easy-to-cook recipes of hearty and comforting dishes from everyday meals, family get-togethers and dinner party fare. I am particularly looking forward to trying the soup, pasta and traybake recipes.


Reading Next: I will shortly be starting a re-read of the wonderful Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy, which was my result for the 22nd Classic’s Club Spin event.


So that’s what I’ve been reading recently – Come back next week to see what I read next. Bye for now!

Now over to you: Have you read any of these? What have you been reading? Also please leave a link to your WWW posts in the comments, so I can come check them out.

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 15th January 2020

  1. I love Thomas Hardy’s books and have read several of them, but not Far From the Madding Crowd – maybe I’ll get round to it this year …

    And Mary Berry’s recipes always work for me so I’ll look out for Quick Cooking.

    1. Ooo Margaret, I highly recommend reading Far From the Madding Crowd, as I think it is truly wonderful. However it is the only full-novel I have read by Hardy, so I can’t claim to be an expert – I am hoping to read more as part of The Classics Club.

      This is my first Mary Berry cookbook, but I am very excited about the recipes in it, so I hope you can get your hands on a copy.

    1. Just_Me, if you do add No God But One to your non-fiction TBR, I hope you will find it as interesting as I am. Also thank you for linking in your WWW post – I am heading over to check it out now! 😀

  2. So glad to hear Cold Fire is dark and gripping! I really want to read at least one of his books this year. Have a great week!

    My WWW

    1. Thank you, Nikki – I hope you’re having a great week, too and I hope you have a chance to read one of Dean Koontz’s books in 2020. Also thank you for linking in your WWW post – I am heading over to check it out now. 😀

  3. You’ve reminded me I really should pick up another Koontz book this year… I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    1. Thank you, Yvo – I hope you enjoy your books and reading this week, too! Also thank you for linking in your WWW post – I am heading over to check it out now! 😀

    1. Hello Kyles, thank you for stopping by, commenting and linking in your own WWW post. How lovely that Mary Berry reminds you of your mother-in-law – Shame about the cooking though! 😛

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.