WWW Wednesday | 29th January 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is ‘Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading: A re-read of the wonderful classic, Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy, which was my result for The Classics Club‘s last Spin event. I am so looking forward to losing myself again in the trials, tribulations, tragedy, heartbreak and ultimate resolution for the honest, hardworking Gabriel Oak and the beautiful, spirited Bathsheba Everdene.

Sadly, this past week, I have not got any further with the Christian non-fiction, No God But One: Allah or Jesus? by Nabeel Qureshi, in which, Muslim to Christian convert, Qureshi continues to explore the origins, similarities, differences and authenticity of these two faiths; a follow up book to his brilliant, bestselling Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus. What I had read was proving to be very interesting and thought-provoking read, so I must get back to this soon!


Recently Finished: The science-fiction, thriller Cold Fire by best-selling author, Dean Koontz. His 1991 novel that follows teacher, Jim Ironheart, an ordinary man who has saved twelve lives in three months, which peeks the interest of reporter, Holly Thorne. A dark and extremely gripping read. So much so, I found myself torn between wanting to keep reading on to know what happens next and being a little frightened to read it once it got dark! 😉

This week, I also posted my review for the unfinished classic, Sanditon by Jane Austen.


Reading Next: I am tempted by either the historical, murder-mystery, The Poison Bed by E. C. Fremantle or the historical-fiction, Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir (the third book in Weir’s ambitious six-book series, Six Tudor Queens). I definitely need an historical fix soon!


So that’s what I’ve been reading recently – Come back next week to see what I read next. Bye for now!

Now over to you: Have you read any of these? What have you been reading? Also please leave a link to your WWW posts in the comments, so I can come check them out.

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 29th January 2020

  1. I need to read the Weir books – I know I’d love them.

    I’ve recently finished a science fiction story with a religious bent to it. (The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell) It’s one that keeps coming back into my thoughts.

    1. Kelly, I really hope you have the chance to read Weir’s wonderful series about Henry VIII’s wives soon! Also I hope you keep coming back to The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell in your thoughts in a good way! 😀

    1. Tessa, although I decided to go for Fremantle’s The Poison Bed for my next read, I know it won’t be long till I pick up Weir’s next book about Jane Seymour. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.