Sunday Reflection | 23rd February 2020

(View over a disused quarry on a walk in a county park with my cousin)

Good morning everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. Another, stormy, week has blustered by and it is time to reflect back on what I’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I finished reading the Christian non-fiction, No God But One: Allah or Jesus? by Nabeel Qureshi and my comforting re-read of the wonderful classic, Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy. Which means I have been able to turn my full focus back onto the historical, murder-mystery, The Poison Bed by E. C. Fremantle. I have also recently started The Favourite: Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough by Ophelia Field, a history of the life of this powerful, glamorous and controversial favourite of Queen Anne.

While on the screen, I watched the final of the BBC’s Best Home Cook. To be crowned the winner the last three contestants had to rustle up two dishes with a salmon tail; make perfect tortellini in an eliminator round and finally make their ultimate three-course dinner party. Without spoilers, I am happy to say my favourite won. 😁 I have also continued watching ITV’s nostalgic, crime drama Endeavour and re-watching the first season of the sexy, vampire drama True Blood, as all seven boxsets are on Now TV.


As I have been off work for the half-term break this week, I took the chance to do a bit of visiting. First, on Tuesday, I went to see my cousin, Hannah and we went out together to a country park near her; where we enjoyed a lovely, long walk in our wellies around the woods and enjoyed the statues/art dotted about, during a break from the horrible weather we’ve been having. After which we indulged in a feast at Pizza Hut with my Meerkat Meals deal.

Then on Wednesday, I was taken by my friend and her mum to Astley Book Farm, which shamefully I had never heard of, let alone been to before! This place is awesome! With room after room of books stacked to the brim on ceiling skimming bookshelves, that are squeezed into every possible space. I am rather impressed that within all that, I only came away with one purchase: Clariel by Garth Nix (The Old Kingdom #4) 🤓. We also enjoyed a delicious lunch of homemade, carrot and coriander soup with chunky bread, by a roaring log-burner in the farm’s cute café.


Work or no work, my church’s small Alpha group, which I am helping the vicar to lead, meet on Mondays. So this week, we met for our fourth session back at our first host’s house, where we enjoyed a lovely shared meal of chicken fajitas; watched this week’s video and discussed our fourth topic of ‘How Can I Have Faith’. During the week, I have also been helping the vicar to plan our Alpha away day and of course, I also went to my weekly belly dance class.

With the rest of my time off, I have been running errands; doing chores; clearing out and doing a fair bit of cooking. A new recipe I tried was Mary Berry’s Tomato and Tarragon Soup from Berry’s Quick Cooking: my newest cookbook. Needing only simple prep and 15 minutes to simmer, this was quick and easy to make, and it was delicious! The only thing I tweaked in the recipe was to swap double cream for the healthier, reduced fat crème fraiche. I won’t be making any other tomato soup after this! 😋

Finally, here on the blog has been fairly busy, too! At the start of the week, I posted my review of a brilliant history of Margaret Tudor by Melanie Clegg; while mid-week, I took part in WWW Wednesday; and at the end of the week, I posted my review of the science-fiction classic, The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells and rounded up my classics reading from the last year in my The Classics Club | Two Years Gone post.


Well that’s it for now folks, as you can see it has been a lovely, busy week. With all that and the fact it is raining cats and dogs outside, I have decided to treat myself to a quiet Sunday at home. Will soon start preparing a minced beef pie, mash and veg for when my grandad comes round for lunch. I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Bye for now!

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading, watching and doing to this past week? I hope you have all stayed safe in the storms.


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

25 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 23rd February 2020

    1. Lynn, it was an excellent week and I did easily lose a few hours in the Book Farm and its wonderful café. I must return in the near future – Perhaps with a better idea what books I am after in particular! 😉

  1. Busy week in all fronts! I love the idea of that book farm, though I’m keeping print book purchases to zero and have ramped up e-book purchases to dangerous levels. 😛 I love tomato soup, and the dino bones look amazing. Going out in the rain is never fun for me, but it’s happened often lately.

    1. Carmen, I am also trying to keep my print book purchases to a minimum, so only coming away with one book is pretty good. E-book purchasing can be very dangerous for your TBR – I know! Because they don’t visibly take up any space you can end up with loads of them hidden away on your e-reader! 😅

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a nice week! I love the look of that bookstore, and the park sounds amazing too. Love the pic!

    Soup with chunky bread by a roaring fire has to be one of the best things! 🙂 The tomato and tarragon soup sounds cozy too.

    I’ll have to check out your War of the Worlds review.

    1. Greg, I was a lucky girl with two great trips out and I couldn’t agree more: what is better than homemade soup and a roaring fire?! 😊 I hope you enjoy my review of The War of the Worlds!

  3. The book farm looks fantastic! You exhibited incredible will-power to only leave with one. 😉 I’ve always been a fan of dinosaurs, so I love the sculpture of the bones. 🙂

    Glad you had such a full-filled week off.

  4. A book farm sounds so good. I love that.
    I’ve never seen True Blood, but I’ve always wanted too.
    Have a great week and happy reading.

  5. Astley Book Farm looks great – it’s a shame it’s too far away from me. It sounds as though you’ve managed to have a good half-term week despite the weather!

  6. Antley Book Farm looks great! We have a similar place near me in an old agricultural barn that’s open once a month.
    I have really enjoyed Endeavour

    Wishing you a great reading week, and better weather

    1. Shelleyrae, I am glad to hear you’ve been enjoying Endeavour, too and that you have somewhere near you similar to the Book Farm. And thank you. Here’s wishing you a great reading week, too. 😊

  7. The view from the country park is beautiful! I love the bookstore too. This cold rainy time is the perfect time for soups. The carrot and coriander one sounds delicious! 🙂

  8. Ooo… I LOVE the sound of the Astley Book Farm! Though, sadly, it’s MILES away from us… And yes – it’s pouring with rain here, too. I’m so sick of it. You had a lovely busy week – and I hope the coming one is also enjoyable, though with less rain…

  9. I know I should be commenting on book related stuff, but couldn’t resist being interested in your tomato soup recipe, Jessica – I’ve never found one yet that I liked better than tinned tomato soup – the only soup that tinned beats home-made. So I must find it and try (yet again!)

    1. Don’t worry Margaret you don’t have to just talk about book related things here: this post is about lots of topics. I hope you are able to try this recipe out – I liked it more than tinned soup. 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.