Sunday Reflection | 1st March 2020

(View of a rainbow from a local pub where I was having Sunday lunch)

Good afternoon everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. I have to say this week has absolutely flown by for me in quite a blur, and so I can’t really believe it is March and already time to reflect back on what I’ve been reading, watching and doing over the last week :

This week, I have been reading the historical, murder-mystery, The Poison Bed by E. C. Fremantle, about a scandal in the Jacobean court of James I, when a celebrated couple are imprisoned in the Tower on the accusation of murder. I have also recently started The Favourite: Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough by Ophelia Field, a history of the life of this powerful, glamorous and controversial favourite of Queen Anne. Two pretty gripping reads!

While on the screen, I have finished watching the newest season of ITV’s nostalgic, crime drama Endeavour and I finished re-watching the first season of the sexy, vampire drama True Blood; as all seven boxsets are on Now TV, I will probably return to watch season 2 pretty soon. However, for now, I have moved back to Netflix to watch season 2 of the retro, supernatural drama, Stranger Things. Also on Friday night, with our Indian takeaway, my dad and I watched the American monster film, Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019).


With my tiring return to work, the only social event to share with you from this week is my church’s small Alpha group, which I am helping the vicar to lead, that meets on Monday night. This week, we met for our fifth session back at our second host’s house, where we enjoyed a lovely shared meal of chilli con carne; watched this week’s video and discussed our fourth topic of ‘How and Why Do I Pray’. We were missing two members due to work, so hopefully we will have them back tomorrow.

However, it has continued to be fairly busy here on the blog this week. At the start of the week, I posted my review of the charming, Christmassy memoir, A Gift From Bob by James Bowen; while mid-week, as usual, I took part in WWW Wednesday; and at the end of the week, I posted my review of the crime e-short, Agatha Raisin: Hells’ Bells by M. C. Beaton.


Finally, this morning I went to our Holy Communion service at church, where I helped out in the kids’ club and then went out with a large group from church for Sunday lunch at the local pub; which made a lovely change.

Now that’s all folks, as you can see it has been a quiet-ish week for me. I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Bye for now!

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading, watching and doing to this past week? I hope you have all stayed safe in the storms.


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

18 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 1st March 2020

  1. Hi Jessica, yes I feel as though time is moving quickly too. February just flew! March is here, Easter is just round the corner and Sat’s are looming on the horizon.
    Thanks for visiting my blog, hope you have a good week.
    Flora 💜

  2. I can’t believe it’s March. And love the rainbow pic!

    Stranger Things is fun. 🙂

    Chili con carne- mm that sounds lovely haha!

    1. Greg, summed up as rainbow, Stranger Things and chilli con carne it does sound like a great week… Just such a shame it seems to be all flying by me! 😏

    1. Thank you, Laurel-Rain – I am so pleased I managed to capture the rainbow so well in this picture. 🙂 I didn’t know Agatha Raisin was on Netflix, however if it is the same TV series I tried, I gave up after just the pilot episode because they had changed too much about the characters for me. So just be aware that if you do try the books out they could be quite different for you!

  3. Beautiful rainbow!

    Have you read any of the books the True Blood series is based on? I enjoyed the books (they’re set in my neck of the woods), but never watched the show. My daughter told me they don’t keep with the books.

    1. Thank you, Kelly – I am so pleased I managed to capture this rainbow so well in this photo. 😊 As for True Blood, I read the first book but I really struggled with all the sex. I particularly find it hard to read about, while it is a bit easier when just watching it.

      1. I’m the opposite. I’d rather read (and skim, if necessary) than watch, where there’s less left to my imagination. Honestly, I prefer it neither place. 😉

        1. You see my imagination seems to come up with more detail – It is the same reason I can’t read horror or scary things, too. While on the telly I can just be busy doing something else.

  4. Beautiful rainbow! Glad to hear you’re enjoying your historical reads. I’m a fan of historicals as well. Happy reading! 🙂

  5. Ow I hear you! How can it be March already? I feel like it’s just January. Crazy really!
    Sounds like you had a good week though. 😉
    Have a great week and happy reading.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.