Sunday Reflection | 28th June 2020

(A sunny, but blustery Sunday morning here – Also can you spot the intruder!)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A heatwave week has passed and now its time to reflect back on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I started AND finished reading the Christian non-fiction, Wholeness by Christy Wimber, an interesting look into the tricky areas of mental ill health, addiction and healing in the Church. This was our June book choice for our church’s book club, which we all enjoyed. However with my attention drawn completely to this, I have sorely neglected the award-winning, historical-fiction, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, this week.

While in my Holy Bible reading, I continued working my way through the gospel of John in the New Testament, as well as dipping in and out of Judges, Luke and the Psalms, as part of my church’s Morning Prayer livestreams


While on the screen, I finished watching season one of the high-fantasy drama, The Witcher and season two of the historical documentary series, Secrets of Great British Castles, presented by historian Dan Jones; both on Netflix. Now I have switched back to the Sky boxsets on NowTV, to finally watch the award-winning mini-series, Chernobyl, about the terrible nuclear disaster of April 1986. Truly gripping viewing this week!

Then on Friday night, with our customary takeaway (this time Indian), we settled down with a couple of beers to watch Sky’s Friday premiere, which was the wonderfully nostalgic, historical-drama, Downton Abbey (2019). My dad and I were big fans of the TV show, so watching this was like a big comforting hug: just what we needed!


As for work, I was physically in work four days this past week: cleaning and decluttering classrooms on Monday; a health and safety briefing on Tuesday; and then my new class was up and running Thursday and Friday. It was all rather tiring, but it was great to feel more physically useful and to get back to a bit of normality.

In my free time I have been reading; watching TV; jogging and doing relaxing yoga; cooking; cleaning; and finally enjoyed another long soak in the bath with a face mask, last night (I think this needs to become a weekly routine). As for my cooking, I tried a new recipe this week, which was Mary Berry’s King Prawn and Broccoli Stir-Fry, from her Quick Cooking cookbook. Super delicious and quick to make, although had to swap out Black Bean sauce for Oyster as the shops were sold out, will definitely be making this again!

While here on the blog, I took part in the weekly memes: Top Ten Tuesday and WWW Wednesday, and I also shared my review for the unfinished classic, The Watsons by Jane Austen.


Now that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 🙏

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? What have you been doing now restrictions are starting to ease?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

25 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 28th June 2020

  1. I suppose getting back into a full time work routine will take a little getting used to after all this lockdown – plus, definitely tiring.
    Have a good week.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Thank you, Lynn 😊 It has been very tiring this week! However great to be back in work: seeing some staff and pupils and being more physically busy and helpful.

  2. You watch a lot of interesting shows! I’ve been trying to watch a bit more tv but my focus is bad 😅 I have been thinking about reading/watching The Witcher though. Enjoy your week!

    1. Thank you, Shelleyrae 😊 Sorry to hear its cold where you are, but I suppose that is to be expected in midwinter! Really pleased to hear you liked Chernobyl too and I hope you continued to enjoy the Chicago franchise, although I haven’t seen that myself.

  3. It’s been hot here too this week! Feels like summer for sure. And I still need to watch the Witcher.

    Broccoli stir fry sounds awesome, I’ve been loving stir fry lately.

    Have an excellent week!

    1. Thank you, Greg and I hope you have chance to watch The Witcher soon. Also the stir fry was pretty awesome – if I say so myself – so much so I remade it this week using strips of leftover roast beef instead of prawns 😋

  4. Ha! Kitty is on a little tour in the garden. It’s beautiful out even if it was blustery. I’m curious about The Witcher, if it’s any good. Take care going back to work, and enjoy the rest of your Sunday! 🙂

    1. Well done there is a kitty in the garden, Rachel… but it isn’t OUR kitty!! I thought The Witcher was really good fun, if a little scary too! 😁

  5. I believe I spy something in the shadows on the left side of the photo?

    We watched an interesting film (2019) about the battle of Midway (WWII) this week with a good cast of actors.

    1. You’re correct, Kelly! The intruder is a furry, black and white fiend that likes to wind up our cat! Also pleased to hear you enjoyed the film Midway (2019) – I think it is something I would like to watch too. 🙂

  6. I am so very glad I am no longer teaching on a regular basis – I think I would find all the social distancing stuff very daunting! I didn’t spot your intruder in your delightful garden pic, so can you tell me what it is? Wasn’t it HOT on Thursday??? But perfect on Friday – I hope the coming week is a good one for you!

    1. SJ, the social distancing isn’t too daunting but it is a lot to remember and makes things take a lot longer than they would usually, but it is all outweighed by how pleased I am to be back! 😁 The intruder is a black and white cat on the left-hand side, under the tree! And than you. 😊

  7. I hope you are enjoying your return to something that resembles normal! I love your garden photo…so lovely.

    Savor your viewing and reading, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    1. Thank you, Laurel-Rain and yes it has been really good to be back at work: seeing some staff and pupils; and being more physically busy and helpful. Although it is very tiring! 😅

  8. I loved Chernobyl and I hope you are enjoying it. I hoep you are staying safe.

  9. I’m glad your return to in-person teaching has gone well, Jessica. It is definitely very different, though, don’t you think? With all the health safety measures, and social distancing, school isn’t really what it used to be.
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading 🙂

    1. Yes, it is very different at school now, Linda! But still good to be in; seeing some staff and pupils; and being more physically busy and helpful. And thank you. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.