WWW Wednesday | 19th August 2020

Good morning, fellow bookworms. It is ‘Hump Day’ Wednesday which means we are halfway through the working week (if you’re at work) and it is time for WWW Wednesday! A weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, which simply involves answering the following Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?


– Currently Reading –

Katharina: Deliverance by Margaret Skea (2017) – I am loving being swept back to a time of revolutionary, religious reform in 16th century German, in this first book in a new historical-fiction series, told through the eyes of Katharina von Bora, a runaway nun. I will probably finish reading this later today.

The Black Corsair by Emilio Salgari (1898) – I am also still enjoying dipping my toes into this classic, Italian adventure on the high-seas, about the legendary Caribbean pirate, the ‘Black Corsair’, as he seeks revenge for his brothers, slain by the Duke Van Guld, governor of Maracaibo.


– Recently Finished –

Holy Bible – One night, I enjoyed reading through the whole of Ruth, a lovely, short book in the Old Testament, about family, loyalty and redemption.

In the last week, I also posted my reviews of the Christian ‘Beauty and the Beast’ retelling, Calysta and the Beast by Joanna Alonzo; the historical tome, The Favourite: Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough by Ophelia Field, and the useful Christian non-fiction, How To Pray: A Simple Guide for Normal People by Pete Greig. Please check these out if you haven’t already. Thank you! 😊


– Reading Next –


As I am still reading The Black Corsair, I have not been able to start my result for The Classics Club’s 24th Spin event: the classic adventure, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. But I am still excited to read this, as I loved Around the World in Eighty-Days.


Now over to you: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you’ll read next?

Also please leave a link to your WWW posts in the comments, so I can come check them out, too!

20 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | 19th August 2020

  1. Hope you enjoy 20,000 Leagues. I’ve just been reading my batch of SPFBO books which I will be posting an update for shortly. Next up Night Swim or Stoker’s Wilde West.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I hope to read 20,000 leagues one day!! I really need to be better about my classics TBR! I hope you have an amazing week! Stay safe! 😊

  3. I hope you continue to find books to enjoy. I remember loving Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea 🙂

  4. Glad you’re enjoying Deliverance, Jessica! Look forward to your feedback.

    1. Thank you, Margaret – I finished Deliverance last night and loved it! I am a little behind on reviews, but will hopefully have my full thoughts up in the next couple of weeks. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.