Sunday Reflection | 20th September 2020

(A photo from my trip to Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre, in Leicestershire, last Sunday)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A mild and sunny week has passed, and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been reading, watching and doing over that time:

This week, I have not made much progress on any of my current reads: the dual-narrative, historical-fiction, The Firebird by Susanna Kearsley and the classic adventure, Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. However, I also started the Christian non-fiction, The Bible Jesus Read by Philip Yancey, which is the next read for my church’s book club.

While in my Hoy Bible reading,  I have finished reading 1 Corinthians, one of the apostle Paul’s collection of letters to the church in Corinth, Greece, in the New Testament and the book of prophet Malachi, in the Old Testament.


While on the screen, I have continued working my way back through season 13 of one of my favourites TV shows: the British archaeological series Time Team and I have also continued watching the new-ish Jim Henderson series, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, on Netflix: a beautiful crafted show, that has recreated and expanded on the magical world of Thra.

Then Friday, with our ‘chippy’ takeaway, we watched Sky’s premiere of the extremely disappointing Terminator: Dark Fate (2019). Thankfully, in the last week, I also enjoyed fun re-watches of Transformers (2007) and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (2009), as the whole franchise is now available on Sky Movies.


This week at work, we had our class in for two days and for the other three days working online and planning to re-open full time next week. Still being pretty tired I only managed to do little reading, comfort watching and yoga, and join my Zoom book club meeting outside of work. However, yesterday, I had great fun taking part in CluedUpp Games: Witchcraft & Wizardry, where we had to solve a magical, ‘Cluedo’ style mystery around the historic streets of Stratford-Upon-Avon. Pictured is the gorgeous packaging my Hufflepuff scarf came in, that I ordered for the event.

While here on the blog, it has again been regrettably quiet and I have not been able to pop over much to your blogs. My only post this week was Top Ten Tuesday: Purple Book Covers. Please check this out if you haven’t already. Thank you! 😊


Later today, my grandad will be coming over for lunch, I am making roast pork and apple crumble. For now though, that’s all folks! I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 🙏

Now over to you: I’d love to hear what you have been reading? Have you watched anything good? Have you managed any nice days out?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

22 thoughts on “Sunday Reflection | 20th September 2020

    1. Thank you, Lark – So pleased to hear you loved Kearsley’s The Firebird. I haven’t really stopped reading, but just only been able to read small bits at a time. Looking forward to being able to immerse myself fully in it! 🙂

  1. Glad it was a nice week weather- wise. And I didn’t get much reading in this past week either, sadly. I’m hoping this week will be better!

    Hope you had a great dinner with your granddad!

  2. Hope you had a wonderful meal with your grandad! We’re hoping to go apple picking in the next week or two… my husband loves apple crisp! Good luck managing the transition back to full-time classes. My sister is having a hard time with the combination in-person/on line. No idea how long it will continue. Have a good week and happy reading!

    1. Thank you, JoAnn, we had a lovely meal/day with my grandad and thank you, two days into our transition and things are going well. I hope you enjoy your apple picking trip – We don’t have to go far as we have apple trees in our garden. 😊

  3. The game sounds interesting. I will look it up. I hope you have fun at your Granddad’s!

    1. Gayathri, the CluedUpp Games: Witchcraft and Wizardry was great fun and I hope they do one you could perhaps go too, as they do them in different locations around the world. And thank you, we had a lovely time with my grandad, but he came to our house. 🙂

  4. I’m intrigued by your CluedUpp challenge… it sounds like something fun! I’m also curious about your next selection for your church book club. I know if I’m patient I’ll learn more about it before too long. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day and the coming week!

    1. Thank you, Kelly 😊 The CluedUpp Games: Witchcraft and Wizardry was great fun and yes, you shouldn’t have to wait too long for my thoughts on The Bible Jesus Read as it is a short book. 🙂

  5. The CluedUpp game sounds like fun, especially with the Stratford Upon Avon connection. The Philip Yancey book looks good too, I might check it out, as I enjoyed What’s So Amazing About Grace previously.

    1. Alyson, CluedUpp Games: Witchcraft and Wizardry was great fun and made even better by the beautiful setting of Stratford-Upon-Avon. I also hope you will have the chance to check out The Bible Jesus Read too – I am really enjoying it so far. 🙂

  6. I hope you have a lovely roast with your grandad:)). We’re hoping my sister can make it – but the traffic is a bit insane at the moment… road works all over the place! Have a great week.

      1. Sadly, she wasn’t feeling well enough – she’s having a rough time of it, working in a pharmacy during the week and they are incredibly short-staffed right now:((.

        I’m delighted you had such a lovely time, though!

          1. Thank you for your kind good wishes, Jessica:)). Yes, I chatted with her last night and she was feeling better – I think we all are finding the current situation draining…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.