📚 Top Ten Tuesday | New-to-Me Authors in 2020

Hello my fellow bookworms. Today, I am taking part in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! A weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, who each week assigns a new topic to inspires us to create a top ten list based on it. This week’s topic is:

New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2020

(If you didn’t read 10 new authors, that’s fine! Just do what you can.)

No need to worry about not having read ten new authors, as while 2020 was a lower reading year for me – understandably with everything that was going – I am pleased to say it didn’t impact me trying all these exciting new-to-me authors (listed in the order I read them):

   

1. Elizabeth Spann Craig – In January, I read Craig’s cosy crime-fiction, Progressive Dinner Deadly, which turned out to be the second book in the long-running Clover Myrtle series, oops! Oh well it turned out to be a good, standalone mystery and it left me interested in reading more from the series.

2. Robert Dinsdale – In March, I lost myself in Dinsdale’s brilliant historical-fantasy, The Toymakers, an enchanting, twisting and turning,  fairy tale for adults, with all the magic and sometimes terror that entails! I will definitely be reading more by this author!

3. Joanna Alonzo – In the glorious sunshine of May, I read Alonzo’s young-adult fantasy, Calysta and the Beast, the first book in a clever modern-day, Christian retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I would be very interested in reading the rest of this refreshing series.

4. Josh McDowell – My church’s book club choice for May was More Than A Carpenter, the 2011 updated version of McDowell’s 1977 inspirational Christian classic, that challenges readers to ask the question, ‘Who is Jesus?’. A good reference and starting point in your faith, which I have passed on to my dad.

5. Ophelia Field – At the end of June, I finished my long-term, back-burner read of Field’s political history tome, The Favourite: Sarah, Duchess of Marlborough. While it took me a long time to read it, I really enjoyed finding out more of the real history behind this controversial character.

     

6. Christy WimberMy church’s book club choice for June was Wimber’s Wholeness, with a section by Katherine Welby-Roberts. A helpful read for me and many of our group’s members, who suffer with either mental ill health, addiction or long-term illness.

7. Pete Greig – The very next choice for my church’s book club was Greig’s How To Pray, which was a a helpful guide, full of useful tips and inspiration to help improve prayer life, that I and other members of the group have tried to implement into our own prayer lives.

8. Hilary Mantel – 2020 was the year I was finally brave enough to tackle Mantel’s beastie historical-fiction, Wolf Hall. While a slow and long read for me, I did enjoy the characterisation, time period and storytelling. However I certainly need a good break before possibly tackling the rest of the trilogy.

9. Hazel Gaynor – Over the summer, I lost myself in Gaynor’s delightful historical-fiction, The Cottingley Secret a light, sweet and simple tale, that swept me along with the mystery, romance and magic of it all. I would definitely be interested in reading more by this author.

10. Natalie Jenner – Finally, in December, I enjoyed a sweet escapist read of Jenner’s historical-fiction, The Jane Austen Society, a moving tale of love, loss, hope and Austen’s wonderful novels. Perfect for any Austenite. I hope to see more from this author in the near future.

Honorary mentions must also go to Kenneth Brownell for Luther and the 9.5 Theses and the Charles River Editors for Martin Luther and John Calvin, which brings my new-to-me authors up to a grand total of twelve.

For now that’s all folks. Please feel free to share a link in the comments below for your TTT post, so we can come check it out, and I hope to see you again soon for some more lists and bookish chat! 👋📚😃

Now I’d love to hear from you: What new-to-you authors did you read last year? Have you read any of the authors I have listed?

26 thoughts on “📚 Top Ten Tuesday | New-to-Me Authors in 2020

  1. I could not do this topic because I don’t feel as though I read enough outstanding new-to-me authors in 2020. Past years have been different — I’ve discovered Frances Hardinge, Oliver Sacks, and others. This year, I’ve just read three books by Cynthia Bourgeault in one month so she might end up being a candidate.

    Of your list I’ve only read Hilary Mantel. I read the first two Wolf Hall books but I feel I lost the momentum for the third and find it a bit daunting. I may get into a reread at some point, perhaps if I go on a long sea voyage.

    1. I am sorry to hear that 2020 wasn’t a outstanding year for new-to-you authors, Lory. To be honest this isn’t a list of outstanding new-to-me authors – I just listed all of them that I finished! The only three I would say were outstanding for me were Robert Dinsdale, Hazel Gaynor and Natalie Jenner. 😃

      Also, I can totally sympathise about Hilary Mantel’s beastie trilogy. While I enjoyed Wolf Hall, I will need a good length break before I will be ready to try and tackle the next book!.I hope you will, one day, be able to re-read and finish the trilogy. 😅

    1. Hi! 👋 Thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face. 😊 I am pleased you loved The Toymakers too and yes, Wolf Hall was very daunting and I did feel a wee bit proud when I managed to get through it! 😅

  2. I’m really shocked and a little ashamed of myself to think I still haven’t read Hilary Mantel – especially given that I love historic works of fiction.
    Perhaps this will be the year of Wolf Hall.
    Lynn 😀

    1. Hello Lauren, thank you for stopping by and commenting. It is always lovely to hear from a new face. 😊 The Toymakers was brilliant and I hope you will be able to read it for yourself!

  3. The only two of those authors I’ve read are Hilary Mantel and Hazel Gaynor. I have both The Cottingley Secret and the third book in the Wolf Hall trilogy on my list to read in 2021. I would like to read Robert Dinsdale – The Toymakers sounds great!

    1. I have a feeling you will really enjoy The Toymakers by Robert Dinsdale, Helen! I also hope you will be able to get to The Cottingley Secret and the third book from the Wolf Hall trilogy this year. 🙂

    1. Good luck for when you finally take the dive and pick up Wolf Hall off your TBR, Jess! It is an intimidating book and I was definitely a wee bit proud when I finishing reading it. 😅 I also hope you will have the chance to read The Cottingley Secret: a lovely light read to maybe cleanse the palate after something beastie like Wolf Hall. 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.