πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 7th February 2021

(The surreal and misty sight that greeted me yesterday morning)

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A cold, grey week has passed and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been doing, reading and watching over that time.

In good news, it has been a quiet and steady time at work, with the only change being that two more pupils have joined our small group. So I have seven lads to look after now – It has become a bit of an endearing joke about me and my boys (and yes ‘boys’ is including the teacher) with my colleagues at school. 😊 However with the weather and continuing restrictions I haven’t been up to much outside of work, other than dropping off a bag of presents for my friend, her husband and their new baby girl. πŸ‘Ά

Of course my lack of social life has been good for my reading again. Over the last week or so I have been enjoying a re-read of the classic, chivalric-romance, Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott, that chronicles the adventures of the Saxon knight, Sir Wilfred of Ivanhoe and his lady-love, Rowena; as Prince John schemes to take his brother, Richard the Lionheart’s throne. At 519 pages this is a long book, but I am also savouring taking my time with it. 🏰

I have also started dipping in and out ofΒ The Story of the British Isles in 100 Places by Neil Oliver: his account of what makes these islands so special, told through the places that have witnessed the unfolding of our history. I have reached place number (5) CΓ©ide Fields, County Mayo.πŸ’‚β€β™‚οΈ

While on the small screen, after completing series two of the supernatural drama, A Discovery of WitchesΒ (review to come), I sped through Netflix’s disturbing but truly gripping crime-documentary, Night Stalker: The Hunt for a Serial Killer (2021), a candid look into the terrible crimes of Richard Ramirez. And keeping the murder-marathon going, I am now deeply engrossed in ITV’s true-crime mini-series, The Pembrokeshire Murders (2021): a drama starring Luke Evans as Detective Superintendent Steve Wilkins, as he reinvestigates two unsolved murder cases.


For now, that’s all folks! Today will be a quiet day of reading, blogging, cooking (I have a new curry recipe I want to try out) and watching my church’s online service. I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now!πŸ‘‹πŸ™πŸ™‚

Now I’d love to hear from you: How you are? What you have been reading and watching? How has work and life been for you?


I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer.

24 thoughts on “πŸ™ Sunday Reflection | 7th February 2021

  1. I hope you had a great Sunday reading, blogging, cooking and watching your church service. I was exhausted so I ended up doing nothing but walk a little in the snow and hang with my family.
    I hope this week is another good one for you. πŸ˜‰
    Happy reading.

  2. Ivanhoe sounds wonderful- I need to get to that one here one of these days! I’m a fan of the movie. Love the pic! It’s been grey and dreary here too, mostly, although we did get a bit of sun mixed in with all the snow we got!

    Hope you have a great week!

  3. It seems like the pandemic has done wonders for many of our reading lives… I do miss seeing my friends and going out to dinner though. Hope you and “your boys” have a good week. What a lovely, atmospheric photo!

  4. I am glad to hear work has been steady and calm for you this past week. And yay for reading time! I I would like to see the Night Stalker documentary, but haven’t had a chance yet. I am looking forward to a relaxed and quiet Sunday too. I hope to finish the mystery I am reading and spend some quality time with my family. I hope you have a great week!

  5. Glad you had a quiet week. Maybe you’ll get some sun soon! I attempted to make a layer cake yesterday and the frosting was an epic fail. Frosting a cake is hard!

    1. Thank you, Victoria 😊 and sorry to hear the frosting was an epic fail! I must admit I am more a cook than a baker, so I’m sure I would fail at icing, too! πŸ˜…

  6. I wish the lockdown had been good for my reading but I’ve turned to a computer game instead! Ah well… Whatever gets us through at the moment!

    I hope you have a good week.

    1. Thank you, Nicci πŸ™‚ To be honest in our first lockdown, I struggled to read and instead found comfort in re-watching comforting TV shows and films. Whatever gets you through is exactly right! 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.