๐Ÿ™ Sunday Reflection | 7th March 2021

Hello everyone and a blessed Sunday to you all. I hope this post finds you all well. A cold week has passed and now it is time to reflect on what weโ€™ve been doing, reading and watching over that time.

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ Life ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

After a couple of days off, to let the swelling in my fractured little finger go down, I was able to return to work the beginning of this week. I will have to be careful and keep it strapped up for three more weeks, but otherwise it is thankfully not causing me much pain or inconvenience. As for work it was a pretty regular week with ‘my boys’ and colleagues, except for Thursday which was World Book Day ๐Ÿ“š. So we had a lovely day of fire building; marshmallow toasting; a scavenger hunt; poetry reading; and creating ‘Dirty Beasts’, all around the theme of nature and Roald Dahl. Great fun was had by all! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Also as the UK’s social restrictions will not be easing for another week or so, I am greatly appreciating that my church is hosting online The Bible Course ๐Ÿ’ป (from The Bible Society). As well as giving an opportunity to dive deeper into the Holy Bible over this special period of Lent, it is also wonderful to see so many faces from my church family again. We met for our second Zoom meeting on Thursday, where we focused on the book of Genesis ๐ŸŒ.

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ Books ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

Finding myself very tired this week, I have not done as much reading as I would have liked, however on my lunchbreaks and some evenings when I was more alert, I have been reading the mythological-fantasy, The Testament of Loki by Joanne M. Harris: the sequel to The Gospel of Loki. This second adventure is set centuries after the fall of Asgard and sees the legendary trickster in a strange time of new beliefs, teenagers and video games ๐ŸŽฎ!

I have also continued dipping in and out of the fascinating The Story of the British Isles in 100 Places by Neil Oliver, in which I have now reached place number 30: Hyde Abbey in Winchester, Hampshire, the last resting place of the Saxon King ‘Alfred the Great’ ๐Ÿ‘‘. As well as my daily Holy Bible readings about creation, the fall, the flood, the Tower of Babel and Abraham & Isaac in the book of Genesis,ย for The Bible Course I am taking part in.

๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ ย TV & Films ย ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿ’œ

After finishing series one of the dark historical-drama The Alienist (2018), based on Caleb Carr’s 1994 novel, starring Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning and Daniel Brรผhl as three unlikely investigators into the brutal murders of young boys in Victorian New York City ๐Ÿ”Ž. So gripping did I find this, that I moved straight onto watching series two The Angel of Darkness (2020), based on the 1997 follow-up novel, although I am not as far along with it as I would have liked due to tiredness! ๐Ÿ˜ด

Then, as we couldn’t find a film we both fancied watching with our Friday night takeaway, my dad and I instead started watching the, brand new to NowTV, crime-drama Your Honor (2020), adapted from theย Israeli series Kvodo (2017). That stars Bryan Cranston as a prominent New Orleans judge, whose world is turned upside down after his teenage son accidentally kills another teen, son of a local mafia kingpin, in a tragic hit-and-run ๐Ÿš™. We watched two episodes of this gripping thriller in a row and hopefully we will have time to finish it later today. ๐Ÿคž


For now, thatโ€™s all folks! Today will be a quiet day of reading, blogging and watching my church’s online service. I look forward to catching up with you all next Sunday. Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! ๐Ÿ‘‹

(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, The Sunday Post)

Now in the comments let me know: How you are? What you have been reading and watching? Or please leave a link to your own Sunday post.

26 thoughts on “๐Ÿ™ Sunday Reflection | 7th March 2021

  1. Look forward to your review of Loki and I love the sound of the Alienist. Will check that one out – always on the hunt for the next good tv or film to be watched.
    Lynn ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Lynn, I hope it won’t be long till I get my review up for The Testament of Loki and I also hope you will enjoy The Alienist as much as I did, if you decided to watch it. ๐Ÿคž๐Ÿ™‚

  2. We loved The Alienist! I read the book when it first came out and have been tempted to reread it ever since we watched it. Glad the finger swelling went down and hopefully it’s not hurting. It’s amazing how much breaking fingers and toes hurt! Have a great week!

    1. Aw I am so pleased you loved watching The Alienist, Katherine, especially as you were a fan of the books, too! I have finished watching the second series just this week and it was great. Also my finger is already a lot better and I look forward to taking the strapping off in a week and a half! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. I am glad your finger isn’t giving you too much trouble pain-wise. Your World Book Day sounds so amazing! I’m ashamed to say I didn’t even know it had come until it was gone. I hope you have a great week and enjoy your reading!

    1. Thank you, Wendy and I think with the craziness we living through, I think it is totally understandable that World Book Day passed you by this year! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh I loved Roald Dahl as a kid! Fun!! Glad you were able to see church friends over Zoom as well. Genesis is so fascinating- I’m reading a book now on it and there’s so much!

    Take care this week Jessica!

    1. Thank you, Yvonne ๐Ÿ™‚ and great to hear you loved watching Your Honor – Unfortunately we’ve not had chance to finish it yet, but hopefully soon! ๐Ÿคž

  5. Sorry to hear you fractured your finger! The Story of the British Isles sounds good. I’ll have to look it up. Have a lovely week, Jessica! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. If you like Loki, then I definitely recommend these books – I have read three of Harris’ book featuring Loki now: I enjoyed this and The Gospel of Loki and I loved Runemarks! And thank you, Heather ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I didn’t realize this past Thursday was World Book Day. Every day should be book day, though, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m glad your finger isn’t giving you too much trouble. Hoping you can get back to in-person worship before Easter. We started back parking lot services today and have plans to start offering some small services in the Sanctuary (masked and distanced, of course) soon. Vaccinations are moving right along over here, so I see the finish line in sight. (I hope!)

    1. Haha yes, I agree Kelly: everyday should be book days! ๐Ÿ˜ And thank you – I have booked in for our first in-person church service which will be on Palm Sunday and I have my first vaccination on Tuesday, so it definitely feels like the finish line is in sight now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Glad your finger is feeling better, but sorry to hear you are so tired. I have to admit, so am I. Think I’m coping on pure adrenaline at the moment! Having a break in two weeks time and I seriously can’t wait.

    Have a good week and take care of yourself and be kind to yourself.

    Elza Reads

    1. Thank you, Mareli! I hope we both find this week a little easier with the tiredness and that you will enjoy your time off! I have just over 3 weeks till my next break. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  8. Iโ€™m so glad your finger is feeling better. A finger is so small, it seems inconsequential until you hurt it and then the pain is just as big as any other part of your body. Itโ€™s also great that you will be able to do the bible study online. Iโ€™m sure you will enjoy it and get so much from it โค๏ธ. Have a great week!

  9. I like the look of your week, and I’m glad your finger is better. I am curious about the show Your Honor, and will check it out.

    The restrictions that darken our days are wearing us down, but our books and movies do cheer us up. Enjoy yours! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    1. Thank you, Laurel-Rain ๐Ÿ˜Š. These restrictions have made this an even longer and harder winter, but light seems to be at the end of the tunnel now and we’ve certainly had some great books and show/films to hep us through. If you have chance to watch Your Honor, I hope you will enjoy it – I sadly haven’t have chance to finish it… yet! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  10. Glad that your finger isn’t causing you too much pain or difficulty, Jessica. And I hope the coming week isn’t too hectic – I’m guessing with the children returning to school, you are probably flat out right now. I hope you manage to get some rest in the coming week. Take care:)

    1. Thank you, SJ ๐Ÿ˜Š Our only headache was moving classrooms again, but otherwise we have had seven lads in since Christmas and now our full class is in that is only three more for us, so we’ve had it relatively easy and it is good to see them all again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.