🙏 Sunday Reflection | 6th February 2022

Hello friends and a blessed Sunday to you all! 🙏 I hope this post finds you all well. A week of isolation and convalescing has slowly passed by for me and now it is time to reflect on what we’ve been doing, reading, and watching over that time.

Having tested positive for my second bout of Covid last weekend, I spent this week isolating in my bedroom, where I did lots of resting, drinking honey and lemon, coughing, eating chicken soup, taking hot baths, and I discovered the game Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp on my phone. 🍋

Thankfully, my symptoms weren’t too bad, no temperature or loss of taste/smell, but I did have some pretty awful coughing fits. On the whole it just felt like a really rotten cold. Today is my last day of isolation, and as I am now feeling a lot better and tested negative this morning, I hope I will be able to return to work tomorrow. 🤞

For most of the week, when I was feeling well enough, I was reading the utterly charming children’s classic, Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (1909) on my Kindle. Whether bundled up in a blanket or soaking in a hot bath, it was wonderful to escape into more adventures with the imaginative and spirited Anne Shirley, as she starts working as a school teacher, makes new friends, helps bring up twins, and organises improving the town. 👩‍🦰

After I finished Anne of Avonlea on Thursday evening, I picked the chunky young-adult fantasy, Eldest by Christopher Paolini (2005) off of my bookshelf for a re-read. Eldest is the second book from Paolini’s bestselling The Inheritance Cycle series. I am looking forward to reacquainting myself with the next leg of Eragon and Saphira’s journey and training. 🐲

While on the backburner I still have the Christian non-fictions: Pray For Us by Meg Hunter-Kilmer (2021) and Celtic Daily Prayer: Book One by the Northumbria Community (2015), as well as my Holy Bible. I hope to get back to these very soon, as I am starting to feel a lot better now.

Last weekend, I finished off the third and final series of the British fantasy television drama, A Discovery of Witches, based on Deborah Harkness’ All Souls Trilogy, that brought the series to an exciting and satisfying conclusion. A full review for this will be coming soon! 🧙‍♀️

Next, wanting an easy watch, I decided to try the British crime television drama, Wild Bill (2019), starring Rob Lowe as Chief Constable Bill Hixon, a widowed former US police chief, who moves from Miami to Boston, Lincolnshire to clean up this rural English county. Full series available on the ITV Hub and I thought it was an amusing comedy crime procedural watch. 🔍

I also watched three more episodes of series one of the classic, American sci-fi television drama, Star Trek. Something I have watched before but only in bits and pieces, so it is great to working my way through it properly. 👽

With my illness I have posted less then I would have liked in the last week, but I think completely understandable, as my head wasn’t really in the right place. I did managed to share my look back on my life, books, television, films, and posts of January in Sunday Reflection | My January 2022 Wrap-Up post.

Then I also shared my Unboxing My February Book Box from the Teatime Bookshop post, where I revealed the goodies I received in my vintage book box for this month. Please do check these out, if you haven’t already! 😊

The Sunday Post(I have linked this post into the weekly meme, Sunday Post)

For now, that’s all folks! Where ever you are in the world, I hope you and your loved ones are well: staying healthy and happy. God bless and bye for now! 👋

What have you been doing, reading and watching? Please let me know in the comments below, or leave a link to your own Sunday post. I love to chat with you all!

16 thoughts on “🙏 Sunday Reflection | 6th February 2022

  1. Hope you’re fully recovered now Jessica.
    I can’t think what we’ve been watching. We watched a series called Manhunt which was quite good. We also watched the third series of Afterlife and the new Mandalorian/Boba Fett which was also good although I loved the first series.
    Lynn 😀

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you had your second bout of COVID. I’m glad it wasn’t much worse than a really bad cold. I hope you’re feeling better now.

    I’m a huge fan of Animal Crossing. It’s how I got through 2020. I play 1500+ hours on my Switch, lol. I haven’t play Pocket Camp yet, though. Maybe I should try it.

    My Sunday Post

    1. Hello Jennielyse 👋 Thank you for stopping by and commenting – I am feeling a lot better now! Good to hear you are a fellow fan of Animal Crossing and that it helped you through 2020. I am only playing on my phone, but enjoying it so much that I might have to treat myself to a switch! 😊

  3. So glad you are feeling better and are ready to return to work. Bouts of coughing can be very tough and coughs do love to linger. Hopefully no more Covid for you. I would think after having it two times, you would have a super strong immune response to any future exposure. Fingers-crossed! Have a wonderful week!

  4. Oh no- sorry to hear you had Covid again! That’s awful. Glad you’re feeling better though and that it wasn’t TOO bad (that being relative of course). Glad to hear you’re enjoying Star Trek as well. I’d love to hear which episodes are favorites. 🙂

    Also, thank you for linking that video on my blog. I love the Green Dragon Inn and am playing it now!

    1. Aww I am so pleased you are enjoyed the Green Dragon Inn video I shared! 😊 So far with Star Trek my favourite episode has been ‘The Enemy Within’ when Kirk gets an evil doppelganger. 😃

  5. I am sorry you have had to suffer through COVID again. I am glad you are feeling better though. It sounds like you have been enjoying your reading! I have only read the first of the Inheritance Cycle series. I am glad you enjoyed the third season of A Discovery of Witches and that it wrapped up well. Hopefully I can catch season two and three at some point. Take care of yourself and rest when you can! Have a great week, Jessica.

    1. Thank you so much, Wendy. 😊 I have actually only read the first two books of the Inheritance Cycle before, so I am looking forward to finishing the series after my re-reads. I hope it won’t be too long till you can watch series two and three of A Discovery of Witches.

  6. I didn’t know there was a Animal Crossing for phones! Is it fun? I use to love to play the original game on my son’s Game Cube and he and his wife now play on a Nintendo Switch. I’ve been so tempted to get one so I can play (and visit their homes!), but know I would let it take over my life. 🙄

    I’m glad you’re feeling much better now!

    1. Thank you, Kelly and yes, playing Animal Crossing on my phone is was too much fun! So much so I am very tempted to treat myself to a switch! Although I can see what you mean about it taking over your life! At least my poor old phone battery stops me doing that! 😅

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.